We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a college visit to Coe and was thoroughly impressed with the property. It is new, modern, and lovely. Public areas are inviting and open. Room was beautiful with modern furnishings. As always at Hilton properties, the beds are super comfortable with great pillows. The bath was small but efficiently designed and well appointed with nice fixtures and great tile. Staff was friendly and efficient and the cookies are a welcome treat on arrival. I had internet access with my Hilton Honors card but noted that it is otherwise a charge item.
Workout room was reasonably sized and had a good variety of weights, mats, etc. Treadmills and elliptical were available but only three of each.
The hotel is located in downtown Cedar Rapids and is attached to the US Cellular convention center. The area unfortunately has many vacant storefronts and looks like many similar sized Midwestern downtown areas-working on reestablishing it's downtown as a destination and just isn't quite there yet. There are a few small parks along the riverfront which was nice for an evening walk. There are also a few restaurants with outdoor seating, nice for a summer evening, and a wonderful coffee/smoothie/ice cream spot that we enjoyed. But for the most part, this section of downtown is very quiet with not a lot going on midweek.
It is the perfect location to stay for a visit to Coe, which is about a half mile away.
Self parking is a little bit challenging and confusing. Once I located the hotel, I found self parking about 2 blocks away, attached to the hotel/convention center by a skywalk and series of elevators. It wasn't a terribly long walk but it takes you a short distance through the deserted convention center to the hotel. I think I would consider the available valet parking if I stayed again.

Room Tip: Both The Blue Strawberry (downtown) and Brewed Awakenings (just across from Coe) were great little s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 729ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that your visit to Coe went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    243
    117
    53
    33
See reviews for
210
165
34
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was impressed by the state of the art decorations, faucets, room locks, etc. Although the bathroom was small, the room was very comfortable and super nice. However, I tried to use the internet and when I called the front desk they said I needed a code and that they charge if you are not one of the frequent Hilton members. Instead of enjoying the rest of my stay, I had to leave early to go to the airport for internet access. I am appalled that such a state of the art hotel is literally stuck in the 80's by charging for the internet. I travel for business every week and I always stay at the Marriott. At Marriott, a guest simply needs to type in their last name and room # to use the internet for free. I will not be switching to the Hilton ever again as long as they nickle and dime their guests like this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
While there is a fee for wifi in your guest room, we do offer complimentary wifi access in multiple locations throughout the hotel.

We hope that you will stay with us again, and give us an opprotunity to better explain those options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just came for a wedding but was pleasantly surprised to find that the recommended hotel was well worth the trip. Everything was pristine and the service was excellent. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeye_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for the kind words. Looks like you're a Hawkeye fan, if your in town for a game we would to have you back (or anytime your in town).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a good overnight stay - the beds were very comfortable and the cookies were great. The shuttle driver was very accomadating also. Didn't have time to visit the retaurant or the fitness area and pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank George&Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, hopefully next time you will get a chance to try or restaurant 350 First, great food and views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is right in the center of downtown, excellent location. Completely renovated, and the room is comfortable, spacious, and modern. Everything was clean and everyone was friendly. I would love to stay here again. The only thing that I was not the hugest fan of was that you could hear noise from the street easily since it is a city location. My earplugs did the trick though. It is completely unfair to dock stars from this hotel because of the internet fee - every single DoubleTree across the country has this policy. If you do not want to pay for internet, stay somewhere else. The same is true for their breakfast prices (it was delicious though). Also, the DoubleTree does not control what the standard parking rate is for the city of Cedar Rapids - it has to price its parking competitively with the rest of the city. $20 for valet and $15 for self-parking definitely seems steep for Cedar Rapids, but again, if you don't want to pay that, then you will have to stay at a hotel outside the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying downtown with us, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have a way of helping with the internet fee, if you are not currently an Honors member ask the Front Desk when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

For a hotel it was pretty unremarkable, I thought the staff were extremely friendly. Not very knowledgeable about the area but friendly and helpful. I really don't understand the tub shower concept. I would prefer just showers. Also I had to call the front desk to get my room cleaned on Saturday which to me is amateur hour. All in all pretty average, nice staff, clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank YBloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for staying downtown with us at our new hotel. I apologize that you had to call to get your room cleaned, that definetly is not our normal process. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything about this hotel was exceptional. The hotel was extremely clean, the bed was heavenly, the staff was so polite and helpful and they even give you a cookie! The indoor pool was a nice treat. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for staying downtown with us, and for the kind words. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#2 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cedar Rapids Marriott
Cedar Rapids Marriott
#11 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
Address: 350 1st Ave NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Cedar Rapids, Iowa, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex is connected to U.S. Cellular Arena and the new U.S. Cellular Convention Center. Perfect for business or leisure travelers, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool and modern 24-hour fitness center, along with over 80,000 sq ft of meeting and banquet space. Enjoy great location from our hotel near Kinnick Stadium, 30 minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing