We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious elegance”
Review of Cobble Hill

Cobble Hill
Ranked #9 of 417 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unpretentious elegance”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I had dinner here with my wife on a Friday night. I had a blackberry smash cocktail and we split the gnocchi appetizer. Drink was great (with Dickel rye whiskey) and pork gnocchi were tasty. For dinner I had the flatiron steak with calamari and peanut sauce that was perfectly cooked and very good. My wife had the lamb with a delicious pesto sauce. Price was not cheap but quality food and preparation was well worth it. I highly recommend this relatively new and certainly under publicized gem in CR.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    18
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Try the char. It's amazing. ”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here several times, for both lunch and dinner with groups from two to our 40+ person rehearsal dinner. Each time, we have entirely enjoyed our meals. The food is carefully crafted and delicious, with impeccable service from people who clearly care about food. Even in our huge group dinner, each diner was served with care and attention to his or her needs. The small children in the party were able to have special meals, which made it much easier for all of us to enjoy our time together. The highlight of dinner was the Arctic char. Everyone raved about it. Try this place. You'll have a great meal.

Helpful?
Thank hwagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fresh & Fabulous”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

When we dine in our home town, we always assess using what we call the *vacation test* ... we ask ourselves, if we dined in this restaurant when we were on vacation, how would we feel about it (because sometimes I think we tend to have higher expectations for local places that we have access to every day) ... I can certainly say that Cobble Hill passed the *vacation test* with flying colors. Wonderful atmosphere, perfect service, engaging conversation with the chef/owner, and fantastic fresh innovative dishes. My only complaint was that the font on the menu was too small for me to read without reading glasses ... so the waitress brought me an extra pair. We'll certainly be back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very innovative~”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The food was delectable but also very unique and innovative. I am so glad a place like this is in Cedar Rapids!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauratravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing in CR”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

What a find in downtown CR. We had a wonderful dinner - a spring entree and an outgoing winter one- both were the best that we have had in CR. A great blueberry dessert!! I hope it will make it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welter351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobble Hill also viewed

 

Been to Cobble Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing