We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value. Great for business or families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value. Great for business or families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2007

Enjoyed my business stay at this hotel. Staff helpful and friendly. Room very clean. Lots of room. Quiet even though lots of families staying on the weekend. Would definitely stay there again. Great value with nice kitchen for small meals.
Helen H, North Carolina

  • Liked — Suite with kitchen, living area and separate bedroom
  • Disliked — Parking lot fills up quickly
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
2
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

First the bad news -
The Mainstay advertised free high speed wireless internet, but the actual signal was almost impossible to receive, and when it was received, the signal was so weak, that many sites would time out. If your stay may require internet access, I would recommend finding a better hotel. I was unable to remote to my office workstation since the network connectivity was so poor. This was common with fellow coworkers in various rooms of the hotel.

the good news...
If you don't need reliable internet access, and are looking for a cheap place to stay for a while this hotel will suffice. the rooms were spacious, and had several amenities that a business traveler may need such as microwave, full size fridge, electric cooktop, plus a small living room area to relax.

the continental breakfast was adequate, not top of the line, but it was better than nothing. they did provide juices, waffles and some pastries.

i did not use the pool or fitness room so i have no opinion on those.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — poor network connectivity
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

My family arrived at the Mainstay Suites in Cedar Falls for the weekend wedding of my niece. (In all, at least 7 suites were rented by members of my family...other wedding guests may also have planned to stayed there.) My husband, fifteen-yr.-old son, and I were the first to arrive. We thought it was unusual that the ironing board and iron were still set up in the sofa/TV area opposite the entry door to our suite when we first entered, but as we unloaded our wedding clothes from their traveling bags, we noticed a "sweaty" smell coming from the 2 pillows on the closet shelf. We looked more closely and found there was hair clustered in the bathtub/shower drain and an unwrapped bar of used soap next to the bathroom sink. The bathroom counter had not been wiped and had rings of residue on it. There was also a piece of pizza crust on the "living room" floor between the sofa and the kitchen area. My husband immediately called the front desk, to let the staff know and was given the reply, "your room was only 'freshened' today." He had to explain a second time to the front desk staff that we had just checked in during the last 15 minutes and that we expected a "clean room". The front desk personnel finally seemed to grasp what we were saying, and said someone would be up soon with a key to a different room. (While we waited for the staff member to arrive, we checked the bed. The linens had not been changed and were badly wrinkled and contained body hairs from use. We were disgusted, but did not want to leave the motel because of the family that was planning to gather there for the weekend wedding.) We accepted the key to a nearby room and proceeded to move our own things. We thought there had probably been an unfortunate mistake, and since our second room seemed to be clean enough we were willing to forgive the situation. You can imagine our shock later that evening as we visited with other family members and found out that the same "dirty" conditions had been experienced by two other groups of guests from our family. One of these accepted a move to another room, which was clean, but the other "dirty" room had been given to my 82 and 87-year-old parents. They had unloaded their belongings before any of us had a chance to speak to them. (There were dirty dishes in their kitchen sink, food in their refrigerator/freezer, soiled linens on their bed and the tub/shower, sink, and counter had not been cleaned.) Family members immediately notified the front desk and the offer was made to allow them to move to another room. This was not acceptable, since my parents needed to change from their traveling clothes and prepare to attend the rehearsal dinner. My adult daughter and I stayed in my parents' room to wait for a cleaning staff person to come and clean my parents' room, while the other members of our family went to the rehearsal. A member of the front desk personnel came to the room with a bottle of spray cleaner and a rag. He went into the bathroom and cleaned it with the supplies he brought with him. We reminded him of the dirty dishes in the kitchen sink and the soiled bed linens. He wiped the kitchen counter and placed the dishes in the dishwasher and said he would return with clean linens. He did return and changed the bedding. Then, holding the dirty linens, he asked if there was anything else we needed. We said, "No," and thanked him for taking care of things. He never made any apologies or explanations. The next day, we woke to pouring rain, and a major leak of water from the window directly above the glass in the bedroom.of our suite. We were given the "cleaning crew's rags" to soak up the water when they came to "freshen" our room for the day and one of the cleaners returned in a short time with some more small towels. The front desk personnel offered to let us move to another room, but we refused the offer because of the time it would take during the wedding day schedule. The front desk manager called later and apologized for the inconvenience and said that our room fee would be altered to reflect the inconvenience we were caused during our stay. Our bill did not reflect this.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2006

Good location, but our room was dirty upon check-in. The front desk made no effort to clean the room for us. Mentioned the situation twice to front desk and they said they would take care of it, but never did.

Also, the hot tub was out of order for our stay.

I recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

Plenty of room for one person. Pleasant staff. Pool area is set off in a separate but attached building. I saw people in it at midnight having a great time and not disrupting others in hotel. Paid less than $75...well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2004

Great little suites complete with all the gear to cook, eat and clean in your room. Continental breakfast was extensive with juice, cereals, and pastries. Location is great with several chain restaurants within a few blocks. 24 hour indoor pool and workout center is a plus. Perfect for the business or leisure traveler.

Helpful?
6 Thank pazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Collins Road
Quality Inn at Collins Road
#27 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
#7 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids

Property: Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids
Address: 5145 Rockwell Dr NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402-2029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing