We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Sushi Roll Choices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyama Sushi

Oyama Sushi
Ranked #28 of 399 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lots of Sushi Roll Choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Oyama is my go-to place for Sushi. I believe I have tried almost every specialty roll they make (and there are a lot), and all have been fantastic. I also love the Golden Triangle Appetizer (a combination of raw fish with fresh mango on top). My husband is not a sushi eater, but loves their fried rice and noodle dishes, so there are choices for everyone. It can get a bit noisy if there are crowds at the grill tables, but those are a fair distance from the dining tables, so it's better than other restaurants I've tried.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Oyama - wonderful meal, worthy of many return trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Darren and the team at Oyama Sushi work hard and are so helpful in ensuring a great dining experience for their guests. I have liked each and every sushi menu item I have tried. Particular favorites from our latest visit include the Iowa City Roll and the Black Pepper Tuna appetizer.

I think to get any fresher tasting sushi, we would have to be on the coast in Asia. The quality, service and entire experience at Oyama are truly second to none. Highly recommend!

If you go and like it as much as we do, I recommend asking about their customer loyalty card. It's a pretty good program.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IowaTraveler925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Asian food in the Heartland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have lived and traveled around the world and find Oyama's food a breath of Asia in the Heartland. From Sushi to dinners to Teppan tables, they have a great choice for midwestern taste buds.

It is a Gotta Go kinda place.

Rube

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrippingAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

On a recent business trip, my wife and I had an opportunity to stop in at Oyama. We saw that there were several positive reviews about this restaurant and after eating there it is clear that they did not disappoint! We ordered the hibachi (steak) and found that the food was exceptionally fresh and flavorful! The steak literally melted in my mouth. We also had a sushi apetiser and found that the quality was top notch. Not bad for a landlocked state like Iowa having such fresh fish! Again thanks and we will definately be eating here again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We're certainly not experts on sushi. But we'll be going back to Oyama. Everything we selected came to us fresh, nothing was pre-made. All our sushi rolls were delicious, each in it's own unique way. I really can't pick anything bad about our dining experience at Oyama.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyama Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Oyama Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing