We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly excellent with a few minor negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent with a few minor negatives”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield for two nights during a recent weekend. The hotel is in a very convenient location, right off the freeway with quick access to downtown to the northeast and a shopping area (Target, etc.) to the west. There are a handful of fast food restaurants and a gas station/convenience store nearby. There are also a few other hotels in the immediate area, some of which look a little run-down. The hotel is less than 2 years old and has pleasant modern décor.

Our room (2 queen beds) was immaculate and quite spacious. The bathroom was equally clean and large. Our standard room included a microwave and mini-fridge as well. The heating and cooling of the room is controlled with a wall thermostat and worked well. The window could even be opened a few inches to allow for fresh air.

The desk and housekeeping staff were pleasant and professional. The included breakfast was fresh and offered a good variety of hot and cold items served in a pleasant dining area. (Unfortunately, the hotel does not use biodegradable plasticware or plates so there's quite a bit or trash created each day.)

The only negative aspects of our stay were relatively minor. First, the pool area is a bit small and can feel cramped and noisy if there are unruly kids with inattentive parents there. We would have swam more, but it was downright unpleasant to be in the pool area for most of the weekend. Also, rooms on the south side of the hotel have a fair amount of noise from the highway, trains, and nearby race track. Finally, the shower head was so powerful (and not adjustable) that it was almost uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid south side of building because of noise from highway, race track, and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _SLH138_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
69
29
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I always stay in Marriott hotels and this location gives you the Marriott experience: easy checkin and checkout, the bedroom suite was clean, no foul smells, has a flatscreen tv, microwave, fridge and an ihome (for those of us with iPhone this is awesome). Breakfast area is clean - I enjoyed getting the big "good morning" followed by a smile from the breakfast area staff ... The people of IA are so friendly! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sassyplus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Bank of Lee's Summit Senior Bus Group stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites the entire week of April 22, 2013 as we explored this area of Iowa. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The hotel decor was from the lobby to the halls to the rooms was lovely. The group sales coordinator, Jolene, was wonderful to work with in booking rooms for my group. Also, Will at the front desk was very helpful the day of our departure. I would definitely book this hotel for another group stay if I go back to Cedar Rapids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Location: The hotel is located next to I-380 which is an advantage for easy in and out of town. Unfortunately most of our destinations were not located near the hotel esp the soccer complex which is 15 miles north and east. The shopping and dining in the immediate area is minimal.

Room: The room was typical with nothing outstanding for this type of hotel. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. Room cleanliness was above average. The dark woodwork was visually appealing as was the built-in closet.

Facilities: Parking is adequate and free though it feels a little tucked away. Hallways and stairways were clean and well maintained. The lobby and seating area is a nice size and would accommodate the players+family. Overall though the hotel is a typical big box sorta feel with no t much creativity in design as one would expect. There is a pool/sauna/exercise area though I did not look at them in depth.

Breakfast: One of the better breakfasts available when compared to other similar hotel chains.

Check-in/Check-out: The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. No anomalies to report here. 5-stars to the staff

Bottom line: This is a nice place to stay if you have budgets to work within. It is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful when called upon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and west side may be a bit quieter as they face away from the interstate and traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were very happy with our two night stay at the Fairfield Inn in Cedar Rapids. Hotel was new looking and very clean. Rooms were good size and very quiet and I didnt have to ask for maid service. Also, a delicious free breakfast with very friendly hotel staff. I couldn't think of anything negative to say but then Sunday morning the fire alarm tripped and went off and on for about 10 minutes at 6:30 am of course. That was not fun...but it got me up and out the door ahead of schedule, which is a good thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Non P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

3/31/13 My husband and I stayed for one night. The desk clerk, Taylor was very helpful, finding us a military discount and giving us a list of recommended restaurants and delivery options. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable with an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: The selection of quality people with positive attitudes shows a concern for costumers and this is ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed Saturday March 2. After having a horrible experience with the Americ Inn, we were learly. But the Fairfield Inn is WONDERFUL! Gloria took our last minute reservation, and got us connecting rooms and when we checked in, Vicki at the front desk was sooooo nice! We had a king suite.....and it has so much room and was so nice.....small refrigerator, microwave and 2 tvs......had a great breakfast and check out was a breeze!
We have been looking for a nice hotel on the Southside of CR and we have found it!! Will stay again and again! Truly can not say enough nice things about this hotel.....will recommend to anyone who needs to stay in CR.....and will tell everyone to stay clear of the Americ Inn by the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
417 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
#18 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Address: 605 32nd Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-3911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Hotels in Cedar Rapids, Iowa? The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, a hotel in Cedar Rapids near Iowa City features free Wi-Fi, Complimentary breakfast & Indoor Swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing