We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very upsetting & disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
“Very upsetting & disappointing!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My daughter and I had a complaint about a rude desk clerk. We were
informed by the manager that the desk clerk had worked there for
2 years without a complaint. He started yelling at us & my 3
grandchildren. He told us that he was going to invoke his right
to not serve us & asked us to leave the hotel. He then offered
to call the police to escort us all out. I was coming to enjoy my
brother’s wedding but had to deal with this unpleasantness.
The wedding party was all staying there. I have never in my
life been treated like that and asked to leave a hotel. Luckily
we found a nice hotel down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teron T, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am happy you found a hotel that better suited your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    41
    32
    29
See reviews for
110
37
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Teron needs to learn some managerial skills. My mother and I had a complaint on the front desk clerk Brittany! When we explained to Teron what happened he told us Brittany had worked there for 2 years without a complaint. As a customer I don't care what her past record is, I just wanted to the manager to acknowledge that she was rude to us and to take ownership and apologize. Well instead of doing his job he started yelling at us and my 3 children under the age of 4 and told us that he was going to invoke his right to not serve us and asked us to leave the hotel. He then offered to call the police to escort my mother, my husband, my 3 small children and myself. I am absolutely flabergasted that he went to this extreme 1st of all. My uncle's weddding party was all staying in this hotel and now we would have to find another. Teron needs to take some classes on managing or find a new job. He obviously does not know how to handle customer complaints in a calm manner or with the correct actions. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone! What terrible employees!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teron T, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am glad you found other accommodations that better suite your needs. As a rule of thumb once a guest swears at our employees and uses terms like idiot and psycho we no longer are comfortable with their presence at our property. We are very concious of the fact that credit cards are misused and stolen and that is why we didnt check someone into a room under a credit card that was not present at check in. We have this proceedure in place to protect the hotel and our guest. I'm sorry if you dont agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in July 2012 for my family reunion. Although it was a little out of the way from where other family members were staying, I didnt mind. The hotel staff were super friendly and helpful whenever we needed help. My husband and I were traveling with my 1 year old and before I could request any special accommodations, the staff offered to send a crib and extra blankets to our room. The room was spacious with a VERY comfy bed and sleeper sofa. Super quiet surrounding and very clean hotel. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Reid216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teron T, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank You for all your kind words. In the future we would love to serve and host your future family reunions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids
#12 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids
Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids
#25 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
Address: 4444 Czech Ln NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in nicely with the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North. We are an upscale, ultra modern, extended stay, four story hotel with 82 Studio and One Bedroom Suites, plus meeting facilities, business center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our signature amenities include full hot breakfast buffet daily and a Monday through Thursday evening managers reception. Here at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson we have all the comforts of home, and then some. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Cedar Rapids Hotel Cedar Rapids
Hawthorn Suites Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing