We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel of big city hotel on the south side of Cedar Rapids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Hotel at Kirkwood provided just what we were looking for: a quiet, nearby get-a-way with a splash of style. The Hotel is situated on the Kirkwood Community College campus between a modern looking attached convention center, equestrian center, and parking lot, all of which are affiliated with the community college. However, it felt more like we were in the open country than on a college campus (horses roaming outside one set of windows). Within the hotel, the modern decor in the lobby and rooms provided an elegant energy that was not too overwhelming. All areas of the hotel were immaculate; not even a pillow out of place. When we arrived at the front desk, we were (without having to request) given a free upgrade from a King to King Deluxe room at no extra charge. A nice touch! Our 3rd floor room was very quiet and spacious, with all the amenities one would want, including large glass encased shower, flat panel TV, L-shaped couch, bathrobes, spacious rolling desk, and a Keurig coffee maker with several coffee/tea selections. The particular (Sat) night we stayed, it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. No wedding parties, conventions, etc. If fact, we were the only ones at the bar, lobby, and outdoor patio! Breakfast the following morning at the Class Act Restaurant (located within the hotel) was equally delightful. No lines or waiting. The wait staff (students) were sometimes tentative but otherwise refreshingly courteous and attentive. There was an occasional 'drop' in the kitchen, which is open to the dining room. Nevertheless, the food was excellent, with very generous portions and attractive presentation. All in all, the hotel and restaurant were delightful and therefore can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icmedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ended up booking this hotel for a couple of days based on the other reviews that I saw. When I walked in I was amazed at the decor and layout of the hotel -- very elegant and modern! The room was spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are also modern and nicely laid out.

Many hotels could take a lesson or two from the way that the staff conducts itself -- always willing to help with a positive attitude.

The pancakes at breakfast are made from scratch and you could tell based on the great taste.

The one downside is that there is no pool but that still did not stop me from giving this hotel a top rating. The value for the price is unbeatable. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

How often is it that you check in to a hotel and feel like you've walked into an artistically designed, quiet and relaxing environment? The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is a gem, set in a bucolic setting just south of the city center. From the open, modern entry to the outside patio, the locally grown ingredients used in the delightful selections in the restaurant to the spacious and tastefully decorated room, the experience package meets all the needs of travelers. I hope I have the occasion to return in the near future. If you need high-rise and honking cabs to make your overnight stay memorable, this hotel is likely not for you. For those of us seeking a hgh-quality environment for meetings or events or just an overnight travel stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 910JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm in Cedar Rapids occasionally on business. CR is a nice, typical midwest town which means you don't expect much in the way of style when you find a hotel or restaurant. The Hotel at Kirkwood will SURPRISE you. After driving through miles and miles of farmland you'll come to this little gem. When you walk inside you'll be blown away... Is this Manhattan? No... it's Iowa. Seriously, the decor reminds me of hotels in NYC.
The modern design goes from the lobby to the rooms with great amenities, a wonderful bed, a huge desk, beautiful and stylish bathroom and a big TV. What else could you want? How about a REALLY nice restaurant? They have that too. The food was delicious-- a little pricey for Cedar Rapids but well worth it.
The hotel is staffed, I'm told, by students in the hospitality program at the local college. They do a great job and are learning a valuable lesson in 5-star hotel management.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrivateIdaheaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, the bed has a soft pad and the bedding is double sheeted so you do not touch he down comforter. We had an exeutie suite this time. I have never seen a microwave with a pull outndrawer before.
The only thing that would make it better would be if the view overlooked a beach or moutains instead of a parking lot of semis but
it is Iowa, so a person can't expect much.

We ate in the dining room for breakfast and it was outstanding. The portions we large and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I travel quite a lot for business and I am hard pressed to think of a nicer hotel even in larger cities like Seattle, Chicago or Toronto. When I come to the Cedar Rapids area, I always choose the Hotel at Kirkwood because the staff is amazing, the restaurant is delectable and the rooms are beautifully allocated right down to the smallest amenities. I would never consider staying at another hotel - even though some are closer to the downtown core - you truly CANNOT go wrong with this hotel experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

From the people, to the rooms, to the food, this is really a great experience. The front desk personnel were very proficient, extremely nice & helpful. Three of us were traveling for business & we had lunch one day & breakfast the next. Both meals were really great. Again, the servers are nice & the food was fresh & delicious. They have great healthy choices which when you are traveling is such a plus & they had no issues with the minor changes we requested to the meals. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfy to sleep. Despite being full, the hotel was very quiet. The complimentary car service from the hotel is a great touch too with a personable driver! I would defintley go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVBfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
#10 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
39 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Kirkwood Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Address: 7725 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: $128 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Kirkwood Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71-room hotel at Kirkwood Center includes six deluxe suites and meeting space for every event, from business to pleasure. The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is the largest and most comprehensive teaching hotel in the United States. It is staffed by professional management and lead staff assisted by Kirkwood students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Kirkwood Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel At Kirkwood Cedar Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing