We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
170 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My only regret about this hotel is that I could not stay longer. Arrived at 11:30 pm and called for the car service from the hotel - black town car showed up and sped me the short distance to the hotel where the front desk person had my room key ready. I just loved the room - large and modern, decorated in black, white and red. The bathroom was pretty spectacular - marble and glass shower - with good toiletries. The next morning I ordered room service ($8 for eggs and bacon plus delicious fruit) which arrived 5 minutes early (love that), delivered by two lovely young women.
I was speaking at a conference at the hotel at 8 am so did not eat any of the continental breakfast provided for the meeting - but the muffins looked amazing. And as soon as I finished my presentation it was off to the airport - hence my sadness at not staying longer.
I don't think I will be back in Cedar Rapids any time soon - but I almost wish I would be just to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
35
8
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family loved this hotel and the beds and linens were the most comfortable of any hotel we have ever stayed at. Very quiet and peaceful and beautiful modern design. Staff was extremely pleasant and our breakfast in the restaurant was wonderful. They were easily able to accomodate our food allergies. If you need to be in Cedar Rapids, Mt. Vernon or Iowa City this is definitely the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelour1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our group stayed here again this year and enjoyed everything. The decor is modern, the staff is really helpful. It was just as good as a year ago - not a thing slipped. There was our banquet and a wedding across the hall. Our banquet staff was top notch and didn't miss a thing. The food was delicious. The chocolate cake was unimaginably delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsme018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is the best hotel I’ve ever been for business. The rooms are clean and nice, the hotel staff is excellent, and service was great since day 1. Modern, meeting rooms are very comfortable. One of the best things about this hotel is that some departments are run by students of the technical school of the hotel. I’ve been in other hotels run by “professionals” and they are not service/customer oriented. Since you arrive you receive excellent and real professional service.
The only “problem” is that this hotel is in the middle of a cornfield… I mean is not in Cedar Rapids downtown, but for my next trip to Cedar Rapids no doubts I’ll book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danidog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
520 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is operated in conjunction with the nearby Kirkwood Community College Hospitality program but you would never know that by the quality of service they provide.

We live close to the hotel but I have always wanted to stay there because of how nice it looks. The staff was very courteous and professional, and the room was very nice and clean, although our view was not great as it overlooked a large parking lot used for Kirkwood's Truck Driving Program.

We also ate at the on-site restaurant, "The Class Act" and it was very good.

It is a little over 3 miles away from the Eastern Iowa Airport, so if you are in the mood for something more upscale than the nearby chain hotels, give The Hotel at Kirkwood Center a try, it is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to even the most discriminating traveler.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is outstanding, but of course it is pretty new. It is unique in that it is pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently stayed two nights. Nice rooms. I've never seen a hotel that provides a black wash cloth with the words "makeup remover" stitched on it! Cool. The first night we had a minor issue with our room. Management moved us. The next day after being out all day, the air in our room didn't work. Moved again. Through it all the staff was responsive and helpful. We stayed in rooms with king size beds. Plenty of room for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank march959697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Kirkwood Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Property: The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Address: 7725 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Green Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Kirkwood Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71-room hotel at Kirkwood Center includes six deluxe suites and meeting space for every event, from business to pleasure. The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is the largest and most comprehensive teaching hotel in the United States. It is staffed by professional management and lead staff assisted by Kirkwood students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hotel at Kirkwood Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel At Kirkwood Cedar Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing