We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirkwood Hotel, Cedar Rapids, IA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to even the most discriminating traveler.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is outstanding, but of course it is pretty new. It is unique in that it is pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently stayed two nights. Nice rooms. I've never seen a hotel that provides a black wash cloth with the words "makeup remover" stitched on it! Cool. The first night we had a minor issue with our room. Management moved us. The next day after being out all day, the air in our room didn't work. Moved again. Through it all the staff was responsive and helpful. We stayed in rooms with king size beds. Plenty of room for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank march959697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

South of the city in a remote area, this gem is well worth a visit if quality is more important than price. Contemporary decoration throughout with bright colors plenty of light. Well trained and responsive service staff. Mattress is top of the line, bathrooms well planned and 1st class. Quiet and very comfortable place to stay in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I travel to Cedar Rapids frequently for business, and this is definitely the nicest hotel in the area. Rooms are nearly brand new and very large. (Very modern, walk in shower.) Food is excellent, although a little pricey. Plus you're supporting a great cause in the community when you stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

From the service to the food to the room, I can't say enough about this hotel. Best crab cakes I have ever had including the East Coast!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Thank goodness Cedar Rapids finally has a hotel worth staying at! This is apparently a "training hotel", it's only been open a short time, and some of the staff are students at the adjacent Kirkwood Community College (working with experienced mentors) - which is a great idea and seems to work very well.

Very chic accommodations, large rooms, excellent modern decor, great beds, very acceptable restaurant - what more can one ask for?

I can't remember the last time I received a phone call from a hotel Duty Manager to see if there was anything they could do to improve my stay, but it happened within an hour of checking into the Kirkwood. There was also a complimentary bottle of Australian shiraz in the room when I arrived - a very nice touch.

The only negative I could find was that the bar was being renovated during my stay and was therefore unavailable (not sure why they felt a need to renovate it so soon), but otherwise everything exceeded my expectations. I will be visiting Cedar Rapids regularly over the next few months, and will happily use the Kirkwood as my base.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Why stay anywhere else if you are in Cedar Rapids? This is a truly amazing upscale hotel with an equally impressive on-site restaurant! Although I was travelling for business, I felt so spoiled by my 1 week stay here that it seemed like a vacation. Staff were extremely professional (even the student interns), so very friendly and clearly focused on customer service. Decor is contemporary with a bit of a European flair. The room was well proportioned, the bed was very comfortable and I can only wish I had a bathroom like that at my house. Everything was very clean and well kept. I would most definitely stay here again - in fact, I've already booked here for my next two trips to Cedar!

Room Tip: Could hear a bit of noise from the ice machine. If possible, try and get a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
3 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
#7 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Kirkwood Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Address: 7725 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Green Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: $127 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Kirkwood Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71-room hotel at Kirkwood Center includes six deluxe suites and meeting space for every event, from business to pleasure. The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is the largest and most comprehensive teaching hotel in the United States. It is staffed by professional management and lead staff assisted by Kirkwood students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Kirkwood Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel At Kirkwood Cedar Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing