We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed one night for business. This is a new and modern hotel and had nice touches even before I got there. The "airport shuttle" was a town car, not some broken down van, which was nice and unexpected. The people at the front desk knew who I was when I walked in. The rooms are good sized, clean and contemporary. Bathroom is all done in gray marble and has nice amenities. Single serve coffee maker was easy to use (and I gave it quite a workout!). And the beds...SUPER comfy, I slept great and would have stayed in it longer if I could have!

We had lunch in the restaurant, salads, and they were very delicious. Everyone I interacted with was pleasant. The only drawback was that there was no on-site gym; there is one at the connected school, but i didn't have a chance to look into it. Overall, I wish I had more occasions to visit Cedar Rapids and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
37
8
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here overnight this year for the second time. Both times we had a sit-down dinner for an event - the Lincoln Highway Association ride across Iowa every August. This hotel is beautifully decorated in a contemporary style, clean, spacious. The whole enterprise is a class act.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsme018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
310 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Walking in the front door I was immediately struck by the interior of the entryway. I thought I must have somehow jumped to Copenhagen or Stockholm.

This is a fantastic hotel / conference center. I also experienced the use of meeting rooms and catered meals. Had assistance from the AV team for projectors, conference phones etc... All first class service!!

I'd rather this hotel with any I have stayed at in cities like Copenhagen, Stockholm, Shanghai, you name it.

Add on top of this a very very competitive price point.....FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kh57ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I travel frequently and when I travel for pleasure I stay at nice places, e.g. Four seasons or ritz or Marriott in small towns. A friend recommended this place over the Marriott so I decided to be adventurous. It is new, clean, fantastic all around. Service is awesome. Food was outstanding. Incredible value. Don't stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsamystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip and wished I could stay longer. The hotel is impeccable -- a little bit of NYC boutique next to a corn field. The room was lush and comfy. Even though I was next to the elevators, I heard nothing from their proximity.

The service is so good that it is almost over the top. When I just wanted to purchase a piece of fruit from the lobby snack bar, the server accommodated me with a fresh fruit cup from the restaurant. Room service was extraordinarily value-priced and delicisious. It came hot and with a pleasant delivery. I think my entire dinner only cost $17!

This is a teaching facility, adjacent to Kirkwood Community College's culinary arts department. Clearly, the faculty seek to train their students in the utmost of customer service. I would come back to Cedar Rapids just to stay in this hotel again.

My only complaint has less to do with the hotel as it does with the weekend clientele. A wedding party and its many guests were staying there and were boisterous in the hallway, right across from my room upon departing for the wedding, in the late evening, and then upon return at 2 a.m. The hotel may consider segregating business and pleasure guests in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mji2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here just one night, and I wished I could have extended our stay to keep enjoying this hotel! I didn't know what to expect, but it was recommended by my daughter, currently a Coe College student. I wasn't sure if it would be too far away from visiting her at Coe, but it wasn't...plus it was the best hotel in the area I have ever stayed in! The beds (0ne of the most comfortable beds ever, and so were the pillows!) , the room (which was larger than a typical hotel room), the bathroom (again, a nice big size), the welcoming in and checking out... me and my family felt like we were staying at the Ritz!!! I can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Call direct to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labtechs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Kirkwood during the 4th Holiday. It was outstanding! Clean, modern, efficient. The hotel is just off I-380 and Highway 30 - a few minutes from downtown. The hotel is new, clean and luxurious. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were spotless. Very European flavor. We ate at the "Class Act" Restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both were exceptional - fresh ingredients and very competitive prices. This is a real gem in the area - we'll definitely be back when we stay in town again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuningMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
410 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cedar Rapids Marriott
Cedar Rapids Marriott
#14 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Kirkwood Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Property: The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Address: 7725 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Green Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Kirkwood Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71-room hotel at Kirkwood Center includes six deluxe suites and meeting space for every event, from business to pleasure. The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is the largest and most comprehensive teaching hotel in the United States. It is staffed by professional management and lead staff assisted by Kirkwood students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hotel at Kirkwood Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel At Kirkwood Cedar Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing