We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese Food, fresh and tasty.”

Phong Lan Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #201 of 417 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese Food, fresh and tasty.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We ate here with friends, all of the members of our party have enjoyed Vietnamese food in cities around the US and declared this place well above expectations for Cedar Rapids Iowa. The Pho was rated as good, not great. The Bun, vermicilli with salad veggies and meats dressed with a light dressing, was excellent, especially the chicken/lemon grass version. The fresh rolls, vermicelli, shrimp, pork and lettuce with basil/cilantro, were very good and the dipping sauce was excellent. Other friends who were reluctant, thinking such food would be too spicy, were gratified to discover a cuisine that is so fresh, so filled with surprising tastes and not too spicy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yummy and healthy”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We always get the pho. Lots of regulars so you know it is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank TdeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is as close as eating at the family kitchen”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This place is more of a family kitchen with a menu than a restaurant run by a family. Favorite on the menu...shrimp roll (deep fried whole shrimp with ground pork wrapped in egg roll wrapper), spring roll (think slice of tender beef, shrip, bean sprout, lettuce, rice vermicelli wrapped in rice paper). Combination Rice Noodle Bowl (rice vermichelli, lettuce, beef, pork, chiken, and shrimp with sweet vinegarette)...I think it is 8.0 on the menu.
Service might be a little slow. My wait staff usually looks like he is multi-tasking (cooking, service, cleaning, managing kids when they come home from school). Server might not even speak english that well (but they always have a smile...sometimes I get served another table's order). Regardless...when my order arrives and I take a bite of the crunchy spring roll...and I wish this place was in Iowa City so I can go here once or twice a week.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank arisedragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO and Mt. Vernon, IA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's tasty, hopping, and bright”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I love the diverse food at Phong Lan. The restaurant is mostly full, and chances are probable that I will meet people I know. And for good reason: it's a gathering spot because of it's diverse, accurate and tasty cuisine. It's also affordable in relation to the volume served. These are proper volumes with fresh vegetables and meats. The main drawback: table service....refills of water must be requested. Servers do not check in on tables for their needs. But that is minor, as the servers are friendly and food is quickly served.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of my favs”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I tried this place when I worked downtown a few years ago. Great for dining in or takeout. Great Pho (all kinds) and chicken lemongrass also wonderful. Parking is limited and fills up quickly during lunch hours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingIowaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phong Lan Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to Phong Lan Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing