We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Folk Style Nationals Tournament 3/28/2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This place is PERFECT location for our WrestlingTeam to stay at. Hotel is across the street from the mall and has plenty of shops to eat at too; additionally hotel has a nice little arcade with pool tables and Ping Pong (I would bring your own paddles).

There customer service is wonderful; special thanks to Maria (Director of Sales) for her assistants with helping me booking last minute accommodation for my wrestling team... we will be making this our hotel of choice from now on.

The only bad thing I can say about the hotel was the ice machine was INOP - no fault to the hotel management they had some out there the very next day, unfortunately the Tech was unable to get it fix - Good thing that there was another ice machine on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planedrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope to see you in 2013!

Sarah Everett
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 151 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

I recently stayed here for work, for sure wasn't nice by any means but not horrible. There are tons of places to eat and shop near-by for those that may not have a vehicle. Off the top of my head... old Chicago, Texas Roadhouse, Applebees, Wendy's, Arbys, Taco Bell, Starbucks and Panchero's are all with-in walking distance.

The hotel its self is old. I think at one point it may have more along the lines of a motel where the doors to each room were outside. The rooms were very small and not the cleanest, but some of that has to do with it being an older hotel I think. I was in two seperate rooms during my stay (the free wi-fi went out in my hallway and had to switch rooms after it being out for 2 days) I was first in a room that was along the outside of the main building and it was very quiet. The second room I was in was along the inside and faced the pool, not good if you want to sleep before midnight during the Weekend.

The week days/nights were very quiet and relaxing, the weekends were filled with roudy kids running around the main lobby, hall, stairs and pool area.

Room Tip: If you'd like a quieter stay get a room along the outside of the building in the back, anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unchie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! I apologize for the noise during the weekend; we strive to keep a balanced atmosphere for our business and leisure guests. I have passed your concerns about the room's cleanliness on to our housekeeping staff so we can make sure this is not a future problem. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Sarah Everett
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is an older hotel. It has an open air pool in the center and the first thing that struck me was the strong smell of chlorine. The staff is wonderful and friendly. The pool would be fun for a pit stop when traveling with children. We rented a conference room for a week and the chlorine smell got to both of the workers and caused us sinus issues. There is a bar and restaurant. It is a nice stay for the area and the rooms are clean but older.

Room Tip: There are rooms that open to the pool area, work out room and arcade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasurebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We truly appreciate your business and your feedback. I apologize that the chlorine from the pool bothered you, we want all of our guests to be comfortable. We would love to have you back and set you up with accommodations away from the indoor pool. Thank you for staying with us and hosting a meeting here!

Sarah Everett
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
Thank Rafael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Cedar Falls, IA
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
0 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
603 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
454 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave # 1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-5237 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Price Range: $69 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing