We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was visiting town, new this was a new hotel, thought would be nicer than others I had stayed out. Used a corporate rate, but still well above some of the other hotels, thought would try it and that it might be worth it.

It was not. Rooms seemed small for what I was expecting, and while clean, it was just not impressive for a new hotel, and the price.

Also, be prepared to bust the heck out of your shins and knees. They have the worst bed frame type thing around the bed that sticks out but is hard to notice, you will be bruised.

On a good note, everyone was polite, breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    95
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
157
50
13
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn of Cedar Falls recently, on a business trip to Waterloo, Iowa. This facility is beautifully decorated and the service was outstanding. This hotel even has it's own restaurant and bar on the premises. Although our schedule did not permit us to try the restaraunt, we did enjoy the complimentary coffee and home-made cookies. The staff at the hotel was wonderful. They were very friendly and so accomodating and professional. We loved the modern decor, with the country flair. Would highly recommend this hotel. As a note: we did not have occasion to use the pool or the restaurant, so we did not rate them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The rooms were clean and the service was good. The breakfast was also good and included. It seems like it was not included for some people, not sure why. The lobby was very nice, had multiple sitting areas and fireplaces. The hottub was not working when I was there, but it looked very nice. The workout facilities were very nice and had plenty of dumb bell weights, which is unusal at a hotel in this price range. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickL712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

New hotel
Very clean
Pleasant staff --- check in was easy
Front desk called 30 Min after check in . Just to see how are room was

Well maintained fitness and pool center
Free wifi

Restaurant and bar seemed a little high in price

Would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthomps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice new hilton garden inn. Very cozy and modern bar and lounge area. Wish it would have been warmer outside to enjoy one of the 2 firepits. Breakfast a good value at $10/person. Would definitely stay here again when visiting UNI next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

OK - this place is brand new..... Having said that, this is still one of the nicest HGI's you'll find. Much nicer than the sister Hampton in Waterloo. Staff was plentiful and helpful. TV's had plenty of Satelite stations with perfect HD picture. Really liked the walk in showers. Breakfast was very good and service and food delivery prompt. Lobby is very nice with higher end details than other HGI's. Even used the hot tub which was very large, hot and clean! USA Today's were not delivered to the hotel by 7:30 which was out of their control. No complaints here!

Please keep the price at our below the $129 I paid.

Room Tip: They're all nice as this is new. As always... ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a standard double queen room on 11/10/12. This is the hotels' first week of operation, so I am sure there might be a few things to work out. The hotel was spotless, with good clean smells.
The entrance area is very nicely decorated with an open area that offers a semi private sitting room with complimentary coffee and tea.
The front desk staff seemed very friendly however not aware of current discounts and offerings.
Our room was with a work area and nice amenities for the bath area.
My complaints are the sheets and pillowcases are not the smooth hotel type texture/quality
you find. The sheets were scratchy for myself and one of my sons.
The beds have wood surronding each of them. Needless to say, right off the get go
I advised to all in the room to be careful. A bedroom area is small, therefore should never
have a square hard edge to bump into. Well needless to say, my husband banged in
leg pretty hard and I have two welts on my left leg as well.
We have stayed in hotels almost around the entire world, all of them offering different
types of arrangements. It's never a good idea to have any sharp edges in a small area
for travelers.
I wish them the best of luck and hope they find this criticism helpful for future clients.

Room Tip: away from the elevators, they make a nose before opening/closing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365dpificould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
4.5 mi away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#7 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Address: 7213 Nordic Dr, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-9360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in fall of 2012 this brand new "Project Grow" Award Winning Hilton Garden Inn has over 5,000 sq ft of banquet space, a full service award winning restaurant and chef offering farm to table seasonal menus and also the regions only salt water pool and hot tub. Environmentally friendly, comfortable and beautiful atmosphere. Also two large outdoor patios to enjoy cocktails or your meal along side one of two firepits. 2013 Hotel of the Year and 2013 Hilton Spirit Award for outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing