We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at a good price”
Review of Carrollton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrollton Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carroll
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfort at a good price”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This family owned hotel is located just a block off of the main road through Carroll. I have stayed here annually for over 20 years and have seen many improvements and upgrades during that time. Each room has a microwave and refrigerator; many on the first floor have patio access. The room rate includes a free continental breakfast. The property includes Charlie’s Steakhouse which is a casual restaurant with very good food at a reasonable price, and an indoor pool. Book early since this hotel is popular for weddings and conventions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
6
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our family reunion in iowa. Nice family owned hotel. Clean rooms, but beds are a bit hard and the sink heights in the bathrooms are very short. The hotel is a bit older style and seems to be a popular place to stay for construction workers, but they were never a bother. They offer free breakfast and coffee every morning and there is a lounge and restaurant on the property next door. A great place to stay if you are in the Carroll area, and probably a better choice than a couple of the company chain hotels in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USATravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from a night's stay here. The checkin was quick and the girl that waited on us was very friendly. We had a 2nd floor room. There we found a clean room with whated looked like new flooring and newer paint on the walls. We enjoyed a flat screen TV. Later we went down to the restaurant "Charlie's Steakhouse". The food was fantastic. We both had the ribeye dinner for $10.95 each. That included a baked potato and salad of choice. We also had the best waitress and loved the dessert she suggested. With full tummies we headed back to our room and a good nights sleep.
We have been to a few wedding receptions held here and they were all fun!!
We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: No elevator ..... so if you can't do stairs ask for 1st floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCHS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend helped build this hotel in 1978. He hadn't been back since, so we thought it'd be fun to stay here. WRONG!

Lady at front desk acted as if it were a huge inconvenience that we were there. She wasn't at all friendly or helpful. Parking lot was completely empty, except for 2 semis, and it was late Christmas Eve. Acted as if they were too busy to bother with us - we asked if there was a room near the pool, and she rolled her eyes and acted like she was really put out trying to find us a different room. Then I asked for a crib or pack & play, and she was like, "Gee, i don't know if there's one on that side of the hotel..." So I guess that also put her out, having to get a crib for us in their empty hotel. Restaurant was closed for Christmas Eve, so I asked if there'd be breakfast in the morning and she said yes. Breakfast turned out to be fruit & cereal and nothing more. I thought more should've been available to us, since we purposefully stayed where contintental breakfast would be included, since everything was closed Christmas morning. I also understand the staff didn't want to be there for Christmas, but guess what - neither did we! So because they were miserable and only did the bare minimum, that took away from our holiday as well.

On a plus, when we walked in to our room (which by the way, the lady told us to go in door number 7 from parking lot with our baby & luggage, and that was completely covered with ice & snow - didn't scoop it out at all), the room smelled pleasantly clean. We were supposed to have 2 queen beds, and the beds were not queens at all. Room was small and outdated, but clean. I can sleep anywhere when I'm tired, and I tossed & turned all night on those hard beds. Bed springs creaked and poked with every move. My bofriend said in disbelief - "I think these are the same beds we hauled in when we built this" in the late 70s! He said they were heavy with all the springs when they moved them and the beds in our room did seem old.

Pool area had no hot tub, which was surprising. They made a big deal about having a zero-depth entry pool, but I didn't see what the big deal was. Because half of the pool was unusable if you were an adult because it was so shallow - I could walk it on my knees and the water didn't come up to my waist. The other half that came around next to the spraying palm tree, also wasn't very deep and never could get warm in the water because it was a little too cold we thought. At least there weren't other people in the pool - if one other family had been there, it would've been too crowded.

Overall, I would never stay here again. We have family in the area, but we'll stay somewhere else in the future. Biggest problem was the beds. Main reason we would never stay here again. Everything else sucked too - especially the staff, but those uncofortable beds are the deal breaker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ificouldonlyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family usually stays at Days Inn but it was booked several months out. We ended up here. Front desk staff: unfriendly and seemed like it was inconvenient when we were checking in/out. The beds were terribly hard. We did not sleep well at all. The floor in the room had debris like it had not been vacuumed. The price was far too much for the fact that it reminded me of a Super 8 experience. Will never go here again and I recommend you do not either!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Carrollton Inn as a group of 13 with 8 rooms. The rooms were very clean, but the beds were a little hard for my taste. We took advantage of the free continental breakfast each morning. The food was good, but the coffee was only so-so. I was hesitant to try the biscuit and sausage gravy that was in a dispenser, but it was actually very good, if you microwaved the biscuit first. There was a variety of foods, from cold cereal, hot oatmeal, o.j. apple juice, hot tea, fruit, muffins, toast, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy. The staff was friendly and accomodating.
The only complaint I have is the people slamming doors well into the late night hours... But there was a wedding and it was prom night. So I guess I our timing could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piercetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I was in the area for business and being late, did not want to drive back to Omaha, NB, some 150 miles west. This is the largest motel in Carroll, IA and from what I was told, the best Carroll has to offer, which does not speak well of Carroll. This can be described as a truckers motel.

The entire place is outdated. Staff are polite but not outgoing. Some are actually introverted which is not a good think when you are in the hospitality business. Some in the restaurant would barely look you in the eye when speaking to them. Front desk staff always seemed "busy" in the back room and like it was a chore to walk up to the counter to assist guest.

No elevator or ramps for luggage! Hell the front door is a chore to open and hold open as you wheel your bags into the lobby! What happened to the handicapped access requirement? Did this place pay off someone so they did not have to modernize?

Rooms are all stuccoed and hold the dust and dirt. Wall colors are beige and dark brown...not exactly light and airy appeal. Room lighting was fair. There was a very cheap floor lamp near the round table and two chairs in the corner of the room that had Florissant lights. It look like someone pick it out of a trash heap! All the lights, the two over the bed, floor lamp and one over the desk, were all one ONE switch. So if you just wanted one light on while watching TV, you had to leave the switch on by the room door and then go and turn off each individual light. It was crazy! The lamp shades were dusty as was the headboard.

Sheets on beds are clean, but, very thin. What surprised me was the room had a new flat screen Television but half of the channels did not work. The AC/heating unit worked good, but still the room is out of the 70's. Faux wood headboards, tables etc... Did have a microwave and small refrigerator.

The bathroom has no bathroom amenities at all! They have liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner in a dispenser on the wall! Talk about cheap! Towels are very thin and small. Bathtub was stained and shower head set for a 5' tall person. Being 6'5" I had to bend over all the time to wash my head. The shower area has a door that when closed, makes the bathroom very small and almost impossible to open unless you stand in the tub.

At night the other rooms bathroom fans resinate through the walls and ceiling making it impossible to have a totally quite, restful sleep. Called front desk and was told "this is the way things are here". OK....

The continental breakfast is awful! Don't even waste your time. Either go to the supermarket and keep things in your room or go to the restaurant.

The restaurant seems to have a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and shy's away from menu ordering. The food was good, but plain.

The bar, called Swizzle Stick Lounge is also a throw back to the 70's. I mean all that was missing was the shag rugs! Dark, cramped and appeared to be seedy. Not a place to bring your wife for a cocktail. It's more for truckers pounding shots of whiskey!

If you have to stay in Carroll for the night, this is the best place, but that is not saying a lot. Do the 2.5 hour drive to Omaha and stay in a real hotel...for less money! Yes, this place is not $39.95 a night, which is what they only should charge. They are charging over $80.00 a night and it is just not worth the value.

Sorry Carroll... Unless you get a Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Inn or anything modern, I will not be staying in your little town again unless absolutely necessary.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, this place has no elevator, so ask for room on first floor, but stay aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Carroll
Days Inn Carroll
#1 of 6 in Carroll
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Burke Inn Motel & Suites
Burke Inn Motel & Suites
#5 of 6 in Carroll
7 reviews
24.1 mi away
Boulders Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Carroll/East
Super 8 Carroll/East
#3 of 6 in Carroll
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Carroll
Super 8 Carroll
#4 of 6 in Carroll
85 reviews
17.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Lake View
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrollton Inn

Property: Carrollton Inn
Address: 1730 Hwy. 71 N., Carroll, IA 51401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carroll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carroll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carrollton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local treasure for over 25 years, Carrollton Inn has earned a reputation for warm and friendly service over the years. And while our legacy remains true, we are now delighted to offer an even more elevated experience due to recent renovations across the hotel, making us one of the top Carroll, Iowa hotels. Comfortable rooms and suites feature complimentary Wi-Fi, refrigerators, room service, DirectTV cable and, in some cases, patios and soothing whirlpool tubs. Just outside your room, property features include a refreshing pool, a top-of-the-line fitness center, onsite dining at Charlie's Steakhouse and a lively bar scene at Swizzle Stick. Guests can enjoy a hot breakfast buffet every morning and have access to our business center. Our Carroll, IA hotel also offers 5,000 square feet of event space for corporate functions, weddings and other noteworthy occasions. While you're here, take in the sites and enjoy the adjacent park, or take a short drive to Swan Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrollton Inn Carroll, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing