We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You suck”
Review of Super 8 Carroll

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Carroll
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Carroll
1 review
“You suck”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This motel is terrible. Sour milk at breakfast warm apple juice. Took forever to get my girlfriend her room. Put her in an already occupied room. They had to change the key to the room twice because it didn't work. The air conditioning sucked rooms are hot. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    11
    16
    15
See reviews for
22
17
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Located on Highway 71, north of US 30, this Super 8 is quickly becoming a favorite stop for us as we travel between Kansas City and Spencer, Iowa. With family and friends in Lake View, just 30 miles north, it allows us to also break up our trip and arrive at our final destination well rested. During each stay, we typically only need a place to get a good night’s rest. Our selection is not based on amenities, other than the basics: Clean, a comfortable bed, and a good Internet connection. This property has always met those needs; and for around $65 a night for a single queen size room furnished with a bed, TV, reclining chair, and separate desk, we keep coming back to this place.
The bed is comfortable, the shower is hot, and the coffee is fresh. Even though this property is older, we have never felt uncomfortable here. However, if you’re looking for a hotel “vacation” then you may want to spend the extra money and stay at one of the other properties in town with the extra amenities.
For the person who is looking for a budget friendly hotel when passing through town and needs a few hours of rest, you can’t go wrong with this Super 8.

Tip: Skip the hotel’s breakfast and walk to down the hill to the HY-Vee for a great made-to-order breakfast instead. In fact, you can pick up beverages and other snacks at this grocery store the night before if you want, because the room has a mini fridge and microwave too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wants2see50states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had pets, so it was our only choice! They may allow pets, but they are NOT pet friendly! You sunk so far into the double bed you could hardly get out! Woyld only recommend if there was NO PLACE ELSE TO GO!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knabb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I made the mistake of not booking a place ahead of time and happened to find a room here last minute. It is not so bad I would opt to sleep in the car but I will try not to stay here again. The hotel has an odd smell. It smelled like cigarettes when I walked into the lobby and the hall smells musty. The room itself isn't too bad and there is an arched shower rod which I love :o) no iron in the room which is annoying when you are traveling for work.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAdaleandholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carroll hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Carroll
Days Inn Carroll
#1 of 6 in Carroll
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Burke Inn Motel & Suites
Burke Inn Motel & Suites
#5 of 6 in Carroll
7 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Carroll/East
Super 8 Carroll/East
#2 of 6 in Carroll
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carrollton Inn
Carrollton Inn
#3 of 6 in Carroll
68 reviews
24.2 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn Motel
#4 of 5 in Denison
4 reviews
17.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Lake View
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carroll

Property: Super 8 Carroll
Address: 1757 N US Highway 71, Carroll, IA 51401-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carroll
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Carroll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carroll 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Carroll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Carroll
Carroll Super Eight
Carroll Super 8
Super 8 Carroll Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing