We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely unfriendly management - stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Perth Airport
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Redcliffe
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely unfriendly management - stay away!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family recently stayed at this airport hotel and had a very unpleasant stay. It is managed by a husband and wife team, the Flanagans, who leave the property from 10 am to noon and then in the evening. We checked in late and didn't know what time check out was. A cleaning staff came around at 10 and said 10 am was check out - i asked her if it was ok if we checked out at noon and she said she would need to check with her boss. A few minutes later I asked her if noon check out was ok and she said it would be ok. At noon as we were preparing to leave, the manager, Michael Flanagan, said we would have to pay $20 for late check out. I told him that we had already checked with his staff, but he said he was the final word and the staff had no say. Absolutely no flexibility, even after have been told by his own staff that it would be ok.

To add insult to injury, my wife is on crutches and while I was out collecting our rental car, she asked that he help bring her bag down the stairs as there is no elevator. Without even bothering to turn his head to face her, he told my wife that if she brought it to the edge of the stairs (we stayed at the far end of the hallway) he would have it brought down. Shocked, my wife slowly dragged the bag to the edge of the stairs where a small Asian cleaning woman helped her bring the bag down to the 1st floor.

So if you are in for inhospitable, insolent service (oh, and a ridiculous $9 breakfast buffet that is limited to cereal and toast), this place is for you. If not, there are literally dozens of other options on the same strip (Great Eastern Highway) very close to the airport.

Keep looking!

Room Tip: The best tip I can think of is to not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ibis Budget Perth Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your personal Attack. We could have charged you for 2 rooms as you had 2 adults and 2 kids in the room which is for a maximum 3 people. We supplied you with all the information in the room that explained checkout and reception hours, which by your own personal admission you didn't read. You even demanded to see the information card in the room and marched me back into the room to show you where it was written. I'm sure if someone did that to you, you wouldn't be happy and freindly either.
At the end of the day you did not read any information or choose to ignor what was priovided to you by the website and hotel.
However, I do have to apologise to your wife. I did not see that she was on crutches and I would have grabbed the bags from the room.
All Hotels have policies and we are flexible where we can be. But for the guests who wish to get away with putting more people in a room that is allowed, or staying past checkout, we enforce the policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    110
    149
    60
    68
See reviews for
67
124
104
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a cheap place without a cheap price. Very basic. The staff do ok, but it lacks comfort and being on the main road, it is loud. Though near the airport, a taxi is still necessary to get to the airport. Walking anywhere is not pleasant, but I was somehow able to find a "locals" bar a couple blocks away. I had an early flight and since their complimentary breakfast starts relatively late, I missed it. From what I could see, that is probably fortunate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Redcliffe hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

no fridge , no tea coffee, 10 bucks for cerial ..... late check in machine is busted doesnt work proply took me 3 goes also another guest a few attempts

sink tiny toilet in shower basically water everywere


positives bed was comphy aircon worked close to airport though for 119 bucks id at least expect a kettle and some bloody coffee in room not really impressed probly wont be back 1/10

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjsww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

check in was easy after hours.
room was clean but not very spacious, bathroom was even smaller with a tiny sink and a shower almost above the toilet.
breakfast was poor, cereals ans toast but no cheese or meats.
conclusion; budget and OK for 1 night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent quality and service. The room and ammenities were clean and presentable. The staff were friendly, polite and most attentive to my questions regarding the area. I rate customer service, with a smile, very highly and most appreciate the willingness to assist where required. Although I did not utilise these services, the hotel has computers, travel information and vending machines available for patrons to use whilst at the hotel. The option to enter the hotel securley after hours also makes the hotel appropriate for business patrons attending evening meals. The vending machinces cater for all options; snacks, meals, hot drinks, cold drinks and other required items during an overnight stay. The room would benefit from a table/shelf at the bedside and an option of utilising extra pillows and/or a blanket however, these are not neccessities. My only complaint is the choice of shower head in the bathroom; water sprays out the sides and not downwards. I departed the recess in a much drier state than the walls and shower curtain. The change of showerhead, inclusion of a bedside table and option of sourcing extra bed furnishings (if required) would make the Ibis Budget a satisfactory choice of accomodation for staff in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jumpjet83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcliffe
0.9 mi away
Airport Apartments
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bel Eyre Perth
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ascot Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Assured Ascot Quays Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
International On The Water Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sanno Marracoonda Perth Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Perth Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Perth Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Perth Airport
Address: 317-319 Great Eastern Hwy, Redcliffe, Belmont, Western Australia 6104, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Belmont > Redcliffe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Redcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Perth Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Budget Perth Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing