We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of fun with kids!”
Review of Pzazz Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pzazz Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We went here for a weekend get-a-way with our daughter and her friend. The pool was nice. We were there in the winter time, so unfortunately, we weren't able to use the outdoor waterrslides which look really inviting! They have a nice indoor water park as well, but a lot is geared towards younger children. The game area for kids is amazing. They have every game you could think of. We didn't bowl, but the go-carts were a lot of fun. The restaurants were okay. We mostly left the hotel and ate at Dairy Queen, Taco Bell, and the other fast food restaurants. After the kids went to sleep, we went to the casino (which is attached to the hotel. Lost about 20 dollars but it was fun. Very clean hotel. Rooms are updated and modern. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelleystarr2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 272 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

While staying at Fun City is super fun for the kids, I needed a good nights rest. This is not the hotel to find restful sleep. The hallway was constantly noisy all night long. I am convinced that some parents book a room for the adults in their group and a separate room for the kids (teens) and then off they go. Loud and no supervision. IF you are looking for a quiet, restful place to spend the night you might want to try the other side of the property - the Catfish Bend Inn and Spa. A little more quiet over there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldfeet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

looks like a duck, walks like a duck, must be a duck. You can paint your rooms in a trendy color
but if you don't replace worn mattresses, sheets and old fixtures and get rid of whatever smells
linger in there, it doesn't warrant a repeat stay. The walls are paper-thin, you hear every single door slam all night long. Hallways are dingy and need updating. Did not feel safe and secure
here. Beds are worn and lumpy, sheets had holes worn through. Would not stay here again,
and definitely would avoid it at all costs. Too bad, with a name like "Pzazz" it should be so much more. Way over priced! There are other nice hotels nearby..stay there.

Room Tip: keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yakywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments concerning our establishment.

We are deeply sorry the room accommodations were not up to your expectations. We try our very best to keep everything up to date and provide the most comfortable rooms to all of our guests.

We also want to apologize for the disruptions you have experienced in the hotel. Nobody should have to deal with noisy neighbors.

We would like to discuss this with you in more detail. If there are issues with linens, mattresses, fixtures and unpleasant odors we would really like to correct these things. If the front desk hasn't been notified we may not be able to pinpoint where these problems originated.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and we will resolve these matters accordingly.



Sincerely,

Justin Swigart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here one night with our son when we were in town for a soccer tournament. The hotel and decor were from the 80's in both style and condition, and that was really disappointing. Cleanliness was borderline okay, and I think this was partially due to the age of the rooms and furnishings. Our son had a good time with his friends in Fun City and the indoor water area. But it was obvious even to him that the staff was not happy with their jobs. The hallways were quite loud with kids until about 10pm, but after that, there were no disturbances. Our stay was not bad enough to complain, but we will definitely not return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CurlyCurlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Pzazz! We very much enjoy having the soccer tournament teams in our establishment every year.

However, regarding your dissatisfaction, we profusely apologize.

We have recently renovated all of our rooms at the Pzazz Hotel and I am terribly sorry they were not to your liking. It is true the Pzazz building has been around for a very long time, but we implement routine maintenance to keep the building running efficiently and effectively.

In response to your experience with unhappy staff members; we cannot apologize enough. Hearing about issues with our staff is something we take very seriously and poor customer service is absolutely unacceptable. We have very thorough training sessions, that all staff members must participate in, regarding customer service. We consider our customer service to be one of our top qualities, and we will be sure to address this issue.

Please don't hesitate to call me if you would like to discuss this matter further at 866-792-9948.

Sincerely,

Justin Swigart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Fun City should be callled Dirty City. The actual rooms and resturants were clean enough, but I about fainted in the waterpark when I saw a cock roach ( it was VERY alive). Granted I only saw one, but that's like seeing one mouse! It's really too bad; the place could be an awesome venue. We will never return, however.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank min5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback! Feedback is very important to us because it helps us to improve our performance.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for your experience. We try our absolute best to maintain a clean and affordable establishment for families to come enjoy, and sometimes we are unaware of issues until a guest brings it to our attention. We will take care of this immediately and thank you again. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a more positive experience.

If you would like to discuss this matter further do not hesitate to call me:
866-792-9948.

Sincerely,

Justin Swigart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Ok - fun for kids but play areas seemed dirty and staff not happy to be there.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm very sorry that you perceived our staff in such a way. Those types of attitudes are unacceptable as a worker in our establishment. We pride ourselves in our outstanding customer service capabilities. Rest assured the matter will be addressed!

Thank you

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have read the other reviews on this property and was a little surprised by some
of them. They evidently stayed on the newer side of this hotel which they would
not let us stay in. It was supposedly booked up although it did not appear that
way. They said the hotel was 4 yrs. old but, not the Pzazz side, it must be 50
yrs. old and has been poorly remodeled. It still looks and smells old and musty.

Our first impression was the workers smoking and talking by the outside entrance to the
hotel . Staff was not friendly at all and at night it was loud and very disruptive
which we believe were local people staying at the hotel.

Not much to do in this town. We walked the downtown and very few open stores
or restaurants. A lot of dilapidated old buildings. Nothing of interest on the river.
We were hoping to find other things to do besides the casino but, there was
nothing.

The casino is very small, staff caters to locals only and knows them by name. We
could not even get waited on for drinks unless we went up to the bar and then we
had to flag them down. No one playing the tables much at all. Slot machines do
not pay out. You are allowed to smoke in the casino and the people were pretty
rude with it. They also do not comp you like most casinos.

The buffet at the hotel is a joke. I've never seen such a small selection of food.
There was only 1 couple eating there. We ended up eating at the sports bar and
it was ok. Really the only other option.

I would never go back again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on Pzazz side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dotty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
0.0 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Burlington
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington
#8 of 11 in Burlington
646 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn West Burlington
AmericInn West Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Burlington
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pzazz Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pzazz Resort Hotel

Address: 3001 Winegard Dr, Burlington, IA 52601-2061
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range: $59 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pzazz Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PZAZZ! Resort Hotel offers 145 rooms including several bunk bed family rooms, views overlooking the water park and poolside suites. We offer a variety of affordable packages for families, couples, groups and golfers. Admission to Huck's Harbor Water Park is included with each room for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pzazz Hotel Burlington
Pzazz Fun City Burlington
Burlington Best Western
Pzazz Resort Hotel Burlington, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing