We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed Saturday July 27th. Came early and got an early check in. Got free passes for Hucks Harbor waterpark. Also recieved free breakfast buffet tickets as well as 2 free drink tickets. Great deal. King Bed room was awesome and bathroom was perfect for a couple, maybe not a family because of see through shower glass. Check-in lady was really nice and chatty. Definitely worth the money since you save about 40 dollars with breakfast and waterpark. Hot tub and pool is open 24 hours as long as you're quiet. Looked like the gym was as well. Room also has its own furnace/ac so you can adjust warm or cold setting to your liking. Casino allowed smoking but had a nice air flow. Nice atmosphere. Anyone not happy about the rooms or atmosphere are complainers. Breakfast was ehh but it was free!

Room Tip: Book through expedia to be able to cancel within one day of stay. I believe the website has a no ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zemoracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    13
    7
    14
See reviews for
27
53
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a friend's wedding on July 19 & 20. I did not visit the Pzazz! side of the hotel as we don't have kids, so I have no comments there. The Catfish Bend Inn & Spa portion of the hotel is very nice & clean. The front desk clerks Cass & Linda treated us with much courtesy each time we dealt with them. There are three floors but only one tiny non-air conditioned elevator...this needs fixed. We stayed in a single king room, which was very nice & modern. The bed was amazing to sleep on, but the bathroom setup was very weird. Open shower (no door) and open toilet area (no door) and only a sliding door to close the whole bathroom area but no lock. Fine for a couple like us, but no privacy if you have friends hanging out in the room with you (especially immature goofs like my friends). The cable only had 10 working channels as the curse of Mediacom strikes again...we notified the front desk Friday night but it wasn't fixed until Saturday afternoon at which point we didn't use again (no offered discount by front desk for the inconvenience). Air conditioning in room goes no lower than 65°, so on a humid day it took forever to cool down the room. The wedding and reception was held in the Event Center Halls A & B, and were every bit of setup they should have been...I would imagine quite expensive though. Unsure if the food we had at the reception was made by the hotel food service or not, but it was quite delicious. We had the buffet for breakfast on Saturday morning, and it was less than desirable. The eggs were disgusting dry dirt, but the crispy potatoes, sausage, & bacon were ok. The casino itself is very small, but clean. The identification checking process is just asinine...they photograph your ID, check for seal under a black light, and then swipe it for the reading. Only one security guard was nice (& quick at the process), the others were all rude scumbags. They seemed to relieve each other from duty way too often as well (probably 10 different ones in a 2.5 day period). I personally liked the casino inside, and found many people winning at slots. I won a few bucks myself, which was promptly spent at the casino bar. The drinks are poured fairly well here, but the speed of service was usually subpar. It seemed local regulars got the best service over guests. Overall, I'd say it was a positive experience for myself and my fiancée and I would return again if there was a need to be in Burlington and the prices were much lower. $122/night (includes tax) was too much for the overall feeling of value. I'd say it's worth half as much, but I stayed for the convenience of the wedding on-site.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! Your suggestions and comments will be submitted to the rest of the facility management!

The food you experienced at the wedding was in fact made by our Edgewater Grille staff. I'm very glad you enjoyed it. Breakfast, however, sounds like it didn't impress you. For that, I am very sorry.

Our security staff is required to do all of those steps when checking ID's to prevent any minors from entering the casino and supplying proper documentation if needed. There are very large consequences if anything goes wrong at either of the casino gates. I assure you, the process we take is extremely necessary, however I am sorry if any of the security staff were rude in any way.

I can assure you we do not serve regulars any differently than we do our first time guests. You are all equally important, and we appreciate all who come to experience what we have to offer.

Thank you again for visiting!

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here for 10 days twice year since they opened an they have went downhill every time. They treat regular guests like strangers and you have to fight to get a decent room. They give a lousy drink ticket at check in for 1 cheap house wine or a beer and then no more tickets even though you are there ten days. The female bartenders in the casino are very snobby and will look right past you as if you aren't even there when standing waiting to order a drink. Most casinos let you drink free but not this place. You don't even get a deal if you are a guest. Internet Wi-Fi never worked the entire time. Spiders in the rooms. No moves in rooms, HBO wasn't available half the time. Staff was uptight and unfriendly except for a few (3) that were very helpful. Breakfast Buffet horrible, would rather had continental like they used to do. Casino was terrible, never wins or even bonuses on slots. Drinks in casino very expensive. Will go elsewhere from now on...

Room Tip: Hard to get good room, even if you are a regular without threatening to go elsewhere and then you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I'm very sorry your stays with us this year have not been to your standards.

It is true, we give you one free drink ticket per person in your room, just for staying in the hotel. Its one of the many amenities that you receive when staying at the Catfish Bend Inn & Spa.

I can't apologize enough for the experience you had with our cocktail servers. We do our very best providing the appropriate customer service training, and I will be sure to report your incident to the appropriate member of management. As for free drinks, we provide alcoholic drinks and other comps to our cardholders based on play as a thank you for patronage. We also provide free soda, coffee, tea, and coco for all guests in the casino.

I also would like to apologize for your dissatisfaction with the breakfast and the multiple issues you had with your room. I hope that you reported these issues so that our front desk staff could get in touch with the appropriate employees to fix them. I'm sure being a guest at our facility multiple times a year for extended periods, you know that this is not something that happens all the time, and we regret that you had issues for this past stay.

We wish all of our patrons the best of luck when they visit the casino floor, but please remember that gambling is a game of chance, and wins are not guaranteed.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future!!

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

one of my foreman at work was looking for a resort in the midwest and found this one. he suggested it to me. since my wife and i had 2 months of funerals, for family and friends, and long hours at work,we decided to spend a saturday night here. we arrived about 3pm and they checked us right in. the parking situation is a little confusing due to the valet parking covering the entrance. we ended up parking in the parking garage at the back, then moving closer to our room after check-in. our room was one of the best i have ever stayed in. no cramped quarters like usual. wheel chair accessible shower, which we didn't need, but was cool to just walk right in. we decided to go to the casino first. it wasn't very busy, so moving from machine to machine was very easy! we received $20 in comps with our room package and $20 for signing up! we also received 2 free drinks at the casino and $5 each to use in the gift shop. after the casino, we went swimming at the adults only pool which was only steps from our patio. i feel this area needs to be monitored, even though it is posted that it is not. there was a group of drunks in the pool that left shortly after we got in, but they left solo cups and bottles floating in the pool. after returning to our room later in the evening, we witnessed two people having intercourse in this area. after stepping out on our patio, they stopped and moved to another area! i don't blame the hotel for these people acting stupid, but some monitoring should be done so they don't disrupt the other guests. the pizza at boogaloos was really good. we had $20 in comps for food, so we ate here. one note, boogaloos is in the pzazz area, which means, kids everywhere. i tell you, you can tell when you cross over, because there are no kids allowed in the catfish bend area! it was awesome not having unattended, screaming brats around. the arcade and bowling alley looked amazing, but we passed on them, this time. i thought all the prices at this resort were reasonable. we travel alot and it seems other resorts take you for every penny! we got 2 free breakfasts in the morning, so we ate at the edgewater grill. this is buffet style and has lots to choose from! we will deinitely visit again, but next time, i think we'll bring friends along. thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eroom5721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our facility! I have taken note, both from here on tripadvisor.com and on the comment questionnaire that you filled out after your stay, regarding monitoring of the pool. I have forwarded this suggestion on to management.

Thank you again and hope to see you again soon!

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Telephone did not work. Not enough light very dark room. Light and radio not plugged in. Difficult to fix. Breakfast buffet poor. Hard to find entrance since no signs to direct you. Found only by accident where to check in. Room very cold due to gale coming in at window and door. Set thermostat at 77 but still did not help. No bathtub. Why? Casino very smoky.

In all honesty the room decor was very nice, especially the bathroom (even without a tub) and the bed was comfortable. Room was very clean.

This was our first (and last) stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the unplugged items and the phone not working in your room. I'm not sure as to why those things wouldn't be plugged in or in working order, but I'm sorry that we didn't check those things before you checked in.

I have forwarded all of your issues to the respected member of management. Thank you for posting a review and helping us to correct any issues!

Regards,
Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at Catfish Bend several times and loved it......my only thing is no comps for rooms...last yr when there during goose calling competition they had given us a voucher for another stay at $50 a nite....this year there wasnt anything like that.......we would love to come up and celebrate my birthday in april but was hoping to talk to a casino host or employee about getting a room comp......but cant get ahold of anyone..........I then called the main # and it rang and rang and noone answered.....what s up with that.......Pls advise.......SEdwards Don't you guys have any casino hosts or someone to assist with booking rooms.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharbear0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Public Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please know, our Call Center staff does the very best they can to answer all calls as quickly and efficiently as possible. Whether the phone wasn't answered as quickly as it should have been, or if there is an issue with the phone, rest assured the issue will be addressed and solved. Please call us back so we may help you.

I'm not sure what the $50 voucher was from, but we do offer packages that can save you some cash! Be sure to inquire about those as well. Comps are based on your play and the Casino host will be able to help you.

Thanks again!
Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent three days and two nights for our anniversary weekend. The room at catfish bend was perfect for that type of event. Everything about the room is swanky and sexy; wonderful for a romantic getaway. The room was very clean and up to date; flat screen tv and an awesome ipod dock radio. The staff was friendly and helpful and catered to our every need.

We didn't wake up in time to have breakfast either morning but they were quick to give us free vouchers for the breakfast buffet.

I will review the spa seperately; but in short it was great! We had a nice 30 minutes couples massage.

The highlight of the whold visit was that the outdoor spa/hot tub is open year around; we enjoyed using both evenings despite the cold weather and light snow.

TWO THUMBS WAY UP! BRAVO CATFISH BEND!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 210; it was great in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icemkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Catfish Bend Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate you coming to visit our facility and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and your accomodations at Catfish Bend Inn and Spa!

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington
#9 of 11 in Burlington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
18.5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catfish Bend Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catfish Bend Inn & Spa

Property: Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Address: 3001 Winegard Dr, Burlington, IA 52601-2061
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catfish Bend Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring over 40 luxury boutique suites, this adults only hotel includes,"The Spa-At Catfish Bend," adults only pool & spa and all of the amenities that you deserve. Stay and Play casino packages and deluxe spa packages are also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Catfish Bend Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catfish Bend Inn And Spa
Catfish Bend Hotel Burlington
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa Burlington, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing