We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better menu items than buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Muddy's

Big Muddy's
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Once seated in the restaurant, your view changes as the seasons change. Winter brings eagles soaring as they search the icy Mississippi for the fresh catch of the day. In the Summer the river becomes alive with casual and commercial traffic. The historic background of this quaint river town is captured in the memorabilia and pictures that adorn the walls.The restaurant has been a landmark for two decades offering casual to formal dining attracting patrons both local and visiting tourist from other countries. We have a casual family friendly environment. Serving lunch and dinner as well as drinks at the bar. We are great for groups! Walk in or make a reservation and when the weather permits, choose to sit in side or out. Dine in, carry out or we will cater! Whatever the occasion - Big Muddy's is the place!!
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better menu items than buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had lunch there day 1 of our trip, the Prime Rib sandwich with sauteed onion, peppers, and mushrooms. BIG YUM! and the pork tenderloin sandwich came in 2nd place. The fries were a little salty for our taste, but crisp and hot,. (the iced tea, unsweetened, was a little weak). Next day we stopped back in for dinner on our way out of town, and tried their buffet: salad bar (typical), prime rib, (not warm enough) roast pork (not warm enough), fried shrimp (very good), deep fried chicken, (very good, but a little salty). 2 types of mash, gravy, buns, typical fare. I'd recommend them if you order off the menu, but I'd pass on the buffet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelbear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    72
    37
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A restaurant with a full bar, menu, and salad bar with a great view of the Mississippi River . Always eaten here in the day but would bet it is even better view at sun down. Great staff and food. Highly recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CRAIG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“owners are ridiculous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

we were just in to have lunch. we have been a few times and have on and off good experiences with the food. on this occasion, it was awful. we also have always heard rumors on how rude the owners are to their staff, but we witnessed it first hand. we watched the female owner scold our waitress on various occasions, for petty things. she targeted this one employee and was rude to her for nothing! we thought she was a wonderful and attentive server and felt so sorry she had to put up with this. we will not be returning because of the way the owners treat their staff. it was completely unprofessional and unnacceptable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank henryr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local and scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had good food and a bottle of Iowa wine (Linden Wineries). I had never had fried green beans and found them to be a treat - and I counted them as a vegetable :-)
Our servers were very nice and the personnel in the restaurant friendly.
We split an appetizer and a pork tenderloin sandwich with homemade chips and walked out very satisfied.
The view of the river was lovely, as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Right on the Mississippi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This restaurant sits on the banks of the mighty Mississippi and serves very good seafood, especially the catfish. Nice decor and friendly staff make the dining experience very pleasant. My only advice: avoid the mayfly season, usually late May to early June. They're thick near the water that time of year.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Muddy's also viewed

 

Been to Big Muddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing