We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Not bad, but you can probably priceline a room at a better hotel for less money. Interesting setup, good for groups, but needs updating. Several in our group mentioned a smoke smell in their rooms, and several others mentioned spiders in theirs.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sdlivengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear about the dissatisfaction your group had while staying with us. We strive to offer the best service and accommodations to our guests and I am sorry we failed this time. Our rates are based upon availability and events happening in town so they change often. I would like to hear more about your group and their group and their room accommodations. Please feel free to contact me directly at 319-237-1397 to discuss this.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 630 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The price is just right. If you want an ultra-comfy room to get a good nights sleep in, this IS the hotel for you!! If we could give this hotel 10 stars, we definitely would. We stayed indoors upstairs in a 2 queen-bedroom. The water pressure was superb! Every room comes with a microwave & a tall refrigerator. The bed was so comfy w/the perfect coverlet. The air conditioner was high up on one wall, making it so convenient by not blowing the drapes open. Outside our room was a cute patio set along the balcony. The pool area was HUGE and all enclosed!! Toddlers had their very own shallow pool. Everything was A++++. The complimentary breakfast was well worth our stay offering a large array of foods, fruit, pastries, etc. Choosing an inside room is a safer choice, because the electronic doors to the outside automatically shut.

Room Tip: any room that is inside is your best bet because each has its own patio set, is enclosed, and secure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and that we exceed your expectations. I have passed on your nice comments to our staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Terrible place, had two crew members try to stay here. Not worth losing the sleep over they need to remodel it and get rid of the neasty smoking/molding smell in the rooms and office. Parking lot was a mess and the carpet was torn up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skidoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that your crew did not enjoy their time with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with a clean, safe place to stay. All of our rooms are non- smoking and although the policy is stated and strict we do have some guests that violate that policy. However, when that happens we take every measure to ensure it does not continue and we clean the rooms appropriately. I apologize that you may have felt we did not address it. I would like to speak with you regarding this more in detail and would love to have you try our hotel again. Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The rooms we were given a wild dog should not have been place in. There was a pair of jeans hanging in the so called cleaned room and DEAD bugs on the floor. The rooms we were given were not what we were supposed to have. The manager did give us suitable rooms but offered NO discount for inconvience. Will NOT be staying with HOJo any time soon. Very displeased.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself during your stay. Our housekeeping staff usually does a great job of keeping our guests rooms clean for everyone to enjoy. I am sorry that we failed and did not meet your expectations. We do have our pest control company service the rooms monthly and have no report of issues. At the time of your concerns we upgraded you complimentary. I have contacted you directly with more information as well.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#2 of 11 in Burlington
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn West Burlington
AmericInn West Burlington
#4 of 11 in Burlington
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Burlington
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mount Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range: $44 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing