We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was my first time staying in Iowa and luckily I choose this place. Large, beautiful, clean rooms, very good food, very kind and helpful staff. I wondered the design of this hotel and variety leisure places such as pool, billiard, gym and others. That's why you are not going to be bored in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank your for letting us know how your recent stay was at our facility. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 646 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bridger S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

i've been staying at that hotel from 15 january till 21 with my family
First of all i personally want to thank the employees of the hotel for nice service (at the reception, housekeepers)
The hotel has a lot of space and places where to go (Hot tub, pool, billiard, small golf, own bar and many other things)
Room are very clean and nice
There is a wide variety of food on breakfast

I like that place, next time surely will stay there

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chips90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I want to say thanl you for your repeat business. It is always wonderful to hear from our regular guests.

I will be sure to pass along your kind words to all of the departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, and again.

Best regards,

Danielle Huddleston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Let me start by saying this was the 2nd time my family has stayed in this hotel, the first time was April of 2012, our expierence was very good, and we had a good time. The first thing we do when we stay in a hotel is check out the beds, to make sure they are clean, and then we make a sweep of the room to see if extra pillows, towels etc are needed. The beds were fine every thing looked good at first glance. So we all got our swim suits on to get in the hot tub, there was seven of us and as we approached the hot tub area we saw a lot of water on the floor but didn't think much of it since it was next to the pool gate as well. all of us got in the hot tub (not noticing the sign that said a limit of six ) the water did overflow a bit but nothing outrageous. We were only in for appx. 5 minutes or so and a man came by on a cell phone we said hello and he walked on and then turned around and came back and told us to get out that we were overflowing the water and we didn't quite understand him at first because of his accent. He got very rude with us and we got out and there were no towels in the pool area or the hot tub area so we were left standing there waiting on someone that we finally stopped in the hallway to get us some towels. We went back to our room and decided to play cards so we pulled the table away from the wall to use and the table was filthy we washed it off and the towellette was black and the floor under the table was disgusting foods, dust and stains. Then we went to sit in the chair in the corner of the room and it was stained baddddd as well as all the chairs in each room.. We called the front desk clerk who checked us in earlier her name was tara and she was very nice and very helpful. She brought us extra towels and we expressed our issues to her pointing out all of the above we told her we wanted to talk to the guy who was so rude to us and she said he was the owner of the hotel, she left and then another gentleman came to our rooms he gave us his name which i don't remember and he apologized for the owners rudeness, and wanted to offer us a round of drinks to make up for it, we told him that the owner should have apologized not him, and we told him we would take the drinks but that it did not make up for the rudeness and the filth. We feel that the owner could have done more since he was the one who was rude to us!!!! We picked this hotel because of the area and the hotel itself because of its uniqueness, and the fact that last year was so enjoyable, we were also planning on going again in april for my grandaughters birthday but we have changed our mind and will most likely go elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would definately check the rooms very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wasnt expecting much when I checked in but was pleasantly suprised. The hotel is dated and needs some sprucing up but the room was clean and the staff was friendly. It really is a trip back to the 70's when it seemed that every hotel had to have a theme. The rooms overlook the indoor pool which is something you dont see any longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay at the Howard Johnson - Burlington, IA was. We are constantly looking to improve our facility. We welcome you back to see the changes that are in the pipeline.

Best regards,

Danielle Huddleston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ROBERT L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
1.5 mi away
AmericInn West Burlington
AmericInn West Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Burlington
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Burlington
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mount Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range: $44 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing