We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The tiki bar bartender was the one of the best i have ever had. Would recommend him to any bar looking for employment. He did a great job mixing in the regulars with the new folks to create a ideal environment to enjoy a evening after a hard days work.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

I appreciate you writing such kind words about our establishment.

I will be sure to let Soup know that he is doing a wonderful job at the Tiki Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Burlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 623 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel either runs heat or air. There was a freeze warning out and we had a huge glass window to the outside of our room. I had a three year old and a one year old that wanted to go swimming. Not only was that a cold run dripping wet, but at one am we all woke up shivering. We finally got a space heater at 2 am and was able to make it to 8 am. They got us moved, but at the expense of missing the wedding we were in town for... The pool was also not heated. I work for Wyndham hotels and I get a significant discount at this hotel and I won't be using this again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

I apologize for the inconvenience you had during your recent stay at our hotel.

We operate with a boiler/chiller system. Our system is set up to have heat or air conditioning. During the season changes our guests sometimes experience a slight discomfort with the room temperatures. As you mentioned, we did provide you with a space heater when it was requested.

We do have interior rooms at our facility, that do not face the elements as much. I would encourage you to stay in one of those rooms for any future traveling needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was certainly underwhelmed while staying at this property. The hotel was dark and dirty. Windows were broken in some rooms. I saw only two members of the staff in the three days I was there. The location was nice but would likely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank ANDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

I apologize that your stay was not up to your standards.

I do not understand where you saw broken windows, as we all of our windows are in working order. Also, our facility is fully staffed, but I have had a conversation with them to be more visible.

I would welcome you to try our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Entry to the hotel and lobby seemed nice and well taken care of. I knew the pool had to be clean from the smell. Our room was around back. It was as if we were at a different hotel. Run down, dirty, and a party going on somewhere. When we opened the door and after I picked my jaw back up the first words spoken where "Dont take your shoes off". It looked like a floor that you would expect to see a police outline from a dead body. We checked the toilet, sink, shower and sheets and because we used Wyndham points to pay for our room and couldn't get them back we decided that if we didn't touch anything it was ok to sleep for a few hours. WE WON'T BE BACK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank PEGGY Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

First, I would like to thank you for your generous comments about the lobby and pool areas.

I do apologize that the room cleanliness was not up to your standards. Since you stayed here, we have restructured the housekeeping department.

I would welcome you to try the hotel again, and see the improvements yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The stay was great and Soup from the tiki bar was very polite and willing to help you out. The room was clean and housekeeping was very friendly. Pool was a little chilly and could have been warmer. Great breakfast in the mornings! Was very busy that weekend and office personnel done a great job at trying to keep up with all their duties.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We always welcome our guests feedback. I will be sure to let the staff know your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Things were great, good service and helpful. Soup and Sam were very helpful and made the stay very enjoyable. I would recommend this location to anyone. Try out the tiki bar and great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destery1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.1 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#2 of 11 in Burlington
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Burlington
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
23.3 mi away
Super 8 Mt Pleasant
Super 8 Mt Pleasant
#1 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mount Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range: $45 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing