We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean and still looks new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Bloomfield
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bloomfield
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice and clean and still looks new”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed in Bloomfield recently for a family event. Was surpised to find a new hotel named Cobblestone. Family said it has been open about a year.

Everything still looks new - paint, carpet, tile, etc. Front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, as we were checking in very late after a day of driving. Room was good sized (the king sized bed did not feel crammed into the room), everything worked, standard amenities in bathroom plus a large fridge under the coffee maker and microwave. Of couse I don't mean a full size fridge, but it was a larger than normal for dorm sized as we could fit all of our soda, snacks and bottles of water in it without problem. We did not use the coffee maker as fresh coffee is offered in the lobby.

The bed was comfortable and had 5 pillows. Watch out Hilton, Cobblestone knows a king size bed warrants more pillows! Free Iowa paper on the weekdays, which was both very local and fun for a change. The free hot breakfast was quite good too - eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, juice, cereal. Not like a sit down restaurant, of course, but for free it was actually better than Hampton Inns. (I am a Hilton lover, can you tell?) So overall, when given a choice, I may start choosing Cobblestones to see if they all live up to this one.

Overall, a good stay. Bloomfield is kind of out of the way, but if traveling across southern Iowa I would recommend it to both family and friends.

NOTE: There is no elevator to the second floor, so if you don't like steps, you will end up on the first floor.

The only down side for this stay was no receipt slipped under the door on the morning of checkout. That is a minor inconvenience, but one that slows checkout if you want a receipt before you go.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor so if you prefer high up rooms you will be taking the steps. Go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
7
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eureka, il
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Eggs, bacon, quick oatmeal, fruit and juices. The bed was very comfortable, There is no pool but a small fitness room which was adequate. The only small area that was different was no car could pull up to the front door. As it was raining when we arrived and had handicapped parents with us, we had to park (handicapped parking was full) and they had to walk in the rain to get into the front door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse4death
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The good:

The hotels are furnished with quality furniture, nice faucets, sinks, tiling.
Breakfast was pretty good.
Employees were friendly.
Wine bar was a nice feature in the evening.
Beds were comfortable.
Rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean.

The bad:

The hotel is built horribly for sound. The hotel has no elevator, so management placed deer hunters on the 2nd floor. When they all awoke between 5am and 7am, it was impossible for anyone on the 1st floor to stay asleep. Both neighbors around us asked if we had trouble sleeping because they did. The hunters were rude as they stomped around, but it was more than just rudeness. Housekeeping's every move was heard as though they were in our room or next door even when down the hall.

The front desk attendant on the third night did offer to move us upstairs after we stayed in the lobby late to wait for those above us to go to sleep. However, by the third night, we didn't want to move our stuff when we were checking out in the morning.


Bottomline, I will be willing to return if we are guaranteed a 2nd floor room. Otherwise, probably not.

Room Tip: 2nd floor only. Don't mess with 1st floor unless you sleep like the dead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjrcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neosho, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family stayed for the Davis county music festival. Very neat and clean motel, very friendly staff, and the most comfortable bed I've slept in for years. Excellent breakfast. There was some confusion on our reservation that cut short our stay, but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty and found us another room nearby AND paid for the night in question. The only negative thing I could possibly find was the lack of an elevator, but, then, I really could use a little more excersize....thank you, Cobblestone!

Room Tip: try to get a 1st floor room, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieG64850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Several members of my family stayed at this hotel during a recent family reunion in Bloomfield. Everyone seemed satisfied with the accomodations.

Cobblestone Inn just opened April 1. Rooms were spacious and clean. 100% Smoke Free ($75 fine if you smoke in a room).

We had a king-size bed room with microwave, frig, and free wi-fi - cost was $72 (about $82 after all taxes). Huge flat panel TV (36-40"?). Typical hotel room coffee pot and hair dryer in bathroom.

Includes hot breakfast bar which we didn't use so I can't comment although my sisters' families said they enjoyed it.

They have whirlpool suites available.

Room was extremely hot when we first arrived (air was totally off) - but once we turned air conditioner on, it cooled down over the next hour or so.

No elevator to 2nd floor. One thing that felt strange was door to 2nd floor was in the airlock between the outside door and the inside door to lobby. Had to use your keycard to open.

I'd say very similar to a good quality Super 8 or Comfort Inn. Would definitely have no hesitation staying again when I'm in the area.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating - my wife forgot her favorite pillow when we checked out and they mailed it back to us - only charging their costs to us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiringAt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
21.8 mi away
Super 8 Ottumwa
Super 8 Ottumwa
#4 of 7 in Ottumwa
111 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
#1 of 7 in Ottumwa
243 reviews
22.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Ottumwa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
AmericInn Ottumwa
AmericInn Ottumwa
#3 of 7 in Ottumwa
118 reviews
23.9 mi away
Motel 60 and Villa
Motel 60 and Villa
#2 of 3 in Centerville
19 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Ottumwa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobblestone Inn and Suites Bloomfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn and Suites Bloomfield

Property: Cobblestone Inn and Suites Bloomfield
Address: 509 S Washington St, Bloomfield, IA 52537-2108
Location: United States > Iowa > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cobblestone Inn and Suites Bloomfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location near everything Bloomfield, IA has to offer. Situated near Davis Country Hospital, Bloomfield Speedway, and McGowen Recreation and Wildlife Area this hotel offers easy access to Highways 63. Nearby corporate offices include Performance Pipe, Southern Iowa Electric Cooperative, and Citizens Mutual Telephone Cooperative ( CMTEL ). Stay connected and relaxed while exploring or working in Bloomfield with complimentary Wi-Fi access, 24-Hour Business Center, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center, Mini-Microwaves, Mini-Refrigerators, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cobblestone Inn and Suites Bloomfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Inn And Suites Bloomfield Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing