We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagles at Bellevue”
Review of Moon River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moon River Cabins
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went to Bellevue overnight to check out eagles that gather there below the lock and dam in the winter. We were on our way to Galena. Bellevue has a nice riverwalk along the mississippi that was bladed of snow and a great place to walk the dog. Moon river cabins were as advertised, cozy, warm and cute. Stay was in February with a lot of snow and cold. It would be more fun in the summer with the small restraurant/bar on the property open. Had a wonderful breakfast at the restaurant on main street. Our stay was fine but would have to say it's a little too pricey for what is offered.

Room Tip: Appears that they all would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the cabins eight times in the past 10 years. We would never stay anywhere else in that region. They are perfect for a romantic weekend and private. However they are convenient to local dining, shopping and attractions. The hospitality is superb and the staff are amazing. You overlook the Mississippi while you are sitting on the back porch of the cabin. You could sit there for hours watching the barges, boats and birds. It is a specatcular view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Some friends and I rented Cabin #4 for a night, very spacious! We had a great time in Bellevue and enjoyed the history of this small town. The owner was very inviting on the phone and in person. We noticed there is a small restaurant/bar beside the cabins, we came in february so it wasnt open. Loved being next to the Mississippi River, the view was awesome. The owner also owns Mont Rest Inn, a beautiful bed & breakfast (also in Bellevue). I would love to come back!

Room Tip: Cabin #4 is the largest; 2 queen size beds, a sofa and daybed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to see the Eagles, The Moon River Cabins saved our weekend. and we got some great pictures. and the Cabins are very nice and clean. Bed was so comfee. The owner even brought us some coffey to make the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a very nice stay! The gas fireplace made the cabin cozy and warm. Our dog seemed to really enjoy the getaway as well. :) The gas station and highway were a bit noisy at times, but overall had a relaxing and very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in cabin #3, the Twain, on a whim weekend getaway. The cabin itself was ok. Cute and comfy with a full kitchen for cooking your own food, comfy bed and for the most part it was pretty clean. Some of the negatives: traffic noise from the highway that the property is off of, train noise, at times it sounded like the train was coming right through the cabin, view from #3 was obstructed unless you went outside on the porch and the biggest disappointment was the bathroom...there were hairs in the tub and on the sink...yuck! Good thing there was cleaning supplies there so I could clean before we used the shower...would not even think about using the whirlpool tub. There's no excuse for poor housekeeping when you're in the hotel/motel/cabin business. Also, they did allow pets, which is great, but the guys in Cabin #4 had a big lab and didn't pick up after her. I'm such a stickler about picking up after our dog, but obviously some people don't care. Just hope we don't get blamed for the "poo" piles next to our cabin...watch where you step! We did have great weather though, but will not be coming back here to stay.

Room Tip: If you stay here, I'd pick either cabin 1 or 2...better views of the River...maybe they're c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooterpieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wanted a quiet getaway and this place was perfect. It had all the amendities we needed for a private retreat. I enjoyed walking around the town and we had perfect weather. The state park was a nice hiking distance and the view was breathtaking. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chicagocaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
10.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
4.8 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
11.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon River Cabins

Address: 905 S Riverview Dr, Bellevue, IA 52031-1341
Location: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bellevue
Price Range: $167 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rustic cabins located on the Great River Road HWY 52. We offer 4 types of cabins sleeping from 2 to 6 people. All of the cabins come complete with a queen bed, fireplace, private bathroom, Cable TV, air, full service kitchenettes, linens, towels, robes, and bathroom amenities are also included. Well-behaved pets are welcome. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Moon River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon River Cabins Bellevue, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing