We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Very nice, scenic state park

I camped here for 5 nights in a travel trailer. The campground is clean with a variety of nice... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2023
Dee D
,
Marshalltown, Iowa
This is a must see experience. Nature, at its best.

The Park is beautiful and provides hiking trails in wooded areas. Camping is at the Dyas Unit with... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2023
Lori L
,
Dubuque, Iowa
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
34
25
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
34
25
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden frog pond nelson unit picnic path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 65 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

This park has two locations. One has a campground the other has day activities. The campground was clean. Spots are small and close. Truck+5th wheel is 40’; we were able to fit in spot 5. Most spots are short so check the length on the state park site. Sites are reservable and lengths is available on the site. Didn’t use the showers but they appear new.
Both parks have several hiking trails. We enjoyed a couple of them. They were low in difficulty and enjoyable. Saw some deer along the trail. Plenty of overlooks to view the Mississippi River.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank CrbrS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

My wife and I stopped by as we were driving past. The place was almost empty. We drove to the top and walked a short distance to a couple benches which offered a great view of the town and the river. Nothing else was open, so can't comment on that.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 80patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Great place to see a panoramic view of Bellevue!
Also some nice trails and a kids playground .
Ask locals about the “Lemon Squeezer” trail
Be careful when driving! The entrance road is steep and winding!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank 5760jerrymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Bellevue State Park is broken up into two parks..... the Northerly Nelson Unit has the Butterfly Garden, South Bluff Nature Center, Picnic Shelters, Lodge, and hiking trails.

The Southern Dyas Unit has the camping sites for tents, campers, RVs, etc (electrical), as well as great restroom facilities w/ showers.

However, neither unit has firewood for sale so you can either scavenge the woods for dead trees or drive the 2-3 miles into Bellevue and buy bundles.

The hiking trails are fairly short in both units and the Nelson Unit has the best views of the Mississippi and the Lock & Dam.

If you are looking to tent camp, I would stay away from sites #42 and 43. They are secluded at the end of a cul-de-sac, but they are NOT flat.

The resident DNR Officer is great and can give any recommendations about where to eat in town as well as any questions you have about the park. Very friendly and would probably talk with you all day if he could.

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

some great views of the river and river town! We enjoyed seeing the train go through town from the park that overlooks the river. Small park with not alot to do except look that the view

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews