We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

The Blue Heron Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winona Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Heron Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Winona Lake B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are in town for the weekend and thought we would try a bed and breakfast. Couldn't be happier with this B&B. The home sits on a small peninsula overlooking the lake and the view is spectacular. The rooms are gorgeous and the beds very comfortable.
The owners Tony and Kelly attend to every detail and make you feel at home. When you stay here ask Kelly to make her Eggs Benedict, you won't be sorry. As you can tell we love this B&B and will stay here again. Do yourself a favor and spend the weekend, you won't regret it.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We travelled here to attend a car show at the Village. The house is well maintained and sits on the edge of a very beautiful lake.The room was beautifully presented and comfortable. I can't say enough about the hospitality and care shown by Kelly and Tony. They went beyond to ensure we had a great stay.The breakfast is excellent and if you can eat outside do it!. We will use this guest house again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just got home from my second stay at the guest house. The first time we stayed in the Empyrean suite (which was a little over-the-top for my wife and I -- everything looked gilded in gold), and this time we stayed in the Heron's Nest (which was also richly furnished but more comfortable to my wife and I, plus it's on the second story so you can enjoy the view).

It was a great experience. Kelly and Tony are really nice and very accommodating. The boat taxi to Cerulean was awesome -- Tony took us on a great trip around the lake after dinner and we got to enjoy sunset and some good tunes.

I know there's another B&B in the village but I don't think I'll ever book there. Staying here feels like staying with family, and the setting is extremely relaxing. The upstairs rooms get access to a nice living-room area complete with coffee and water and a nice DVD collection, not to mention a sprawling view of the lake. Beautiful. The back yard is well laid-out and well-maintained, and features a nice fire pit and a landscaped fountain area. There's wildlife everywhere and people enjoying the lake. Love it. We will be back!

Room Tip: We prefer the Heron's Nest or the Water's Edge suites -- upstairs you have your own coffee p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Blue Herron Guest House is the perfect get away for any couple. This was the most attractive/beautiful house on the lake. The quality, care & hospitality was just outstanding. Kelly & Tony are great!!! You must try the French toast & coffee that Kelly makes. This was such a wonderful experience and I truly reccommend anyone to stay here. 1st Class in everything they do!! We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: I choose the Emperior Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Blue Heron Guest House is fabulous! The owners are very nice and accommodating. The decor is beautiful, and the house is surrounded on two sides with the lake. Balconies are plentiful and a well-kept dock all for easy viewing and access to the lake. Breakfast was absolutely yummy, too! What more could you want? Love this place.

Room Tip: all were good rooms. really
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENWOOD
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went to Warsaw for my cousin's funeral. I booked a room at the Blue Heron because I wanted comfortable surroundings during a difficult time. When I learned that the other 2 rooms were available, other members of my family (2 sisters and my parents) cancelled their hotel rooms and stayed at the Blue Heron, too. The house is absolutely gorgeous! The location is very private. All rooms have breathtaking views of the water. The rooms upstairs both had private balconies. Most importantly, Kelly was so attentive to our needs. Going back to the Guest House between viewings and the funeral was like getting a warm hug. The beauty and comfort of the home, Kelly’s genuine caring concern and the soothing waves of the water was just what we wanted and needed. We decided we must return during a happier time.

Room Tip: If you have to have a private bath, choose the room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawmom555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My spouse and I recently were in Indiana for a family wedding and stayed at this woderful B&B.
Glorious location, wonderful and gracious hosts, beautiful rooms. Kelly and Tony went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor and the suite here was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona Lake
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Warsaw
Hampton Inn Warsaw
#1 of 5 in Warsaw
280 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Warsaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Warsaw
14.0 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
206 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Guest House

Property: The Blue Heron Guest House
Address: 2001 Westwood Rd, Winona Lake, IN 46590-5780
Location: United States > Indiana > Winona Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winona Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Style Bed & Breakfast. Enjoy this magnificent home on the shores of Winona Lake. Breathtaking views, a wonderful breakfast, and your own balcony are just a few of the amenities you will find here. A private retreat that provides a peaceful and serene experience! Open Year Round! Gift Certificates available. We look forward to sharing the Blue Heron Guest House with you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing