We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise, beautiful view even in winter!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
302 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise, beautiful view even in winter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Friends took us to The Boathouse on Winona Lake. Obviously it would be busier and "prettier" in the spring and summer. I enjoyed the winter view! There were a few ice fishing on the lake, we had a great view from our seats.

The restaurant is being completely remodeled inside! Looked about half done and we were in the finished half which boasts a lake-blue and green decor. Very pleasant.

As a table we sampled the nachos, very good. My salad was good, just a regular house but it was fresh. I ordered the Santa Fe Chicken with baked potato. I really wasn't that crazy about the chicken...and it wasn't hot so it wasn't real appealing. Everything else was fine. Portions are plenty!

Would love to visit in the warmer temperatures!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank candacejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    59
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Maybe it's nice in the summer?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived around noon on a Saturday. It took about five minutes before anyone acknowledged our presence (after we seated ourselves), even though the chef (presumably) walked through twice. A waitress eventually offered us menus, and she was kind and efficient, but there was no explanation or apology for the tardiness of a greeting. The room, because really that's all this restaurant is, was freezing. We ordered, fish and chips for me and a burger and frites for my husband, and the food came quickly. Everything was fine. The burger was obviously a frozen patty, but it had fresh greens and sautéed onions on it. My fish was good, albeit a little greasy. The food was typical, average, adequate, but it was not exceptional, and after the chilly atmosphere and delayed reception, we will likely not return any time soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amdanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Indiana
1 review
“Great restuaurant for all occasions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

A great place to be with your friends and family. Wonderful menu and food and service and hospitality is top notch.
We always have our winter class reunions there because they are so accommodating.
We have a number of couples from Fort Wayne and they have stated that The Boat House is better than anything that Fort Wayne has to offer.
Would recommend this to everyone no matter what the occasion. Also, we go their often on Sunday after our church services.
It truly is a special place to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The view is definately the draw to this restaurant. The food is good, and the service is good as well. We did not have to wait to get seated. The Lake is a pretty background for a good meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, AR
1 review
“Beautiful lake and amazing Walleye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were in town on business and were really looking for fresh walleye. The Boathouse was the only place that we found serving walleye and we were delighted with the food, the service and the location on one of the small scenic lakes in this part of Indiana..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 
Winona Lake, IN
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing