We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient to Purdue, but facility is a trip back to the 1980's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient to Purdue, but facility is a trip back to the 1980's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Please note I have given the facility an average rating and also note I would stay there again, but how this ever got a Sherton Four Points status is beyond me. I am not very familar with the area or it's history, but the design of the hotel looks just like the Holiday Inn facilities that included a "Holidome" from the early 1980's. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bath was clean, but the tile floor was very dated.

The front desk staff was courteous and check in and out was fine. I used the fitness center and all was fine except the televisions did not work.

Buffet breakfast was good. I don't know what it cost as it was included with my conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USAtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    44
    36
    15
See reviews for
81
13
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, IN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed overnight to visit my son at Purdue. Danielle at the front desk was very nice and knowledgeable making the check-in process quick and easy.

The housekeeping department could use a little help. I found a sock in our room that did not belong to any of us and the bathroom floors around the baseboards really should be cleaned.

Overall a very nice family place to stay and play.

Room Tip: The rooms around the atrium area are very noisy especially in the morning when you are trying to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We most recently stayed here while visiting our son in college. The room was spacious and clean. There is a pool, hot tub, and workout room if you're so inclined. The breakfast bar was fresh and the food was delish! You can park easily, (which can be challenging at Purdue!), and it's just a few minutes from campus. It's close to a gigantic Walmart and Applebee's as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the atrium are noisier, but if you're planning to use the pool, they are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieC242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Big place with an atrium/pool in the middle. Seems to me this place is pretty old and tired, and in need of a little facelift. The carpet in my room was threadbare leading to the bathroom, and it was kinda dark.

The staff was friendly and attentive, and it's in a good location close to Purdue (if that's what you're interested in).

The fitness center looked like it had been redone recently - new equipment in excellent condition! However, the water bottle was empty when I arrived. I called to the desk and they said they would replace it. By the time I left an hour later, it still wasn't replaced. Pretty bad to not have water available in the fitness center!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank besa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
988 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually a nice surprise - moved here from the econo lodge - quiet, large room, price is reasonable and newly remodelled room. Its not the Ritz, but just fine and easy to get into and out of town from here. Probably will be back. It also has the high quality beds installed, so just like a Westin in sleep quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently at the end of November 2012. Under the new Sheraton Management there have been a lot of improvements, including fresh carpeting throughout and live plants that take chlorine smell out of the atrium pool area. The front desk staff was exceptional, and everything in the room was in good working order. On Friday afternoon I had the pool to myself and enjoyed a nice long soak in the very clean hot tub. Kudos to the new management!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor outside hall if you want to avoid the noise of kids playing in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Asked for a room away from people noise and got the bottom of the barrel. Hair behind bathroom door, not fresh and clean room, still heard noises from pool plus the chlorine smell, light bulb burnt out. Did not get my value for the price I paid. Would not recommend staying here until they remodel the building.

Room Tip: check room before moving luggage in & check behind bathroom doors for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetSIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lafayette hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
6.2 mi away
Courtyard Lafayette
Courtyard Lafayette
#7 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn
Prestige Inn
#5 of 6 in West Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Property: Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
Address: 1600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47906 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is just a mile from the Purdue University campus and the Research Park. Onsite we offer over 11,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing