We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Purdue, but facility is a trip back to the 1980's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West Lafayette
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Please note I have given the facility an average rating and also note I would stay there again, but how this ever got a Sherton Four Points status is beyond me. I am not very familar with the area or it's history, but the design of the hotel looks just like the Holiday Inn facilities that included a "Holidome" from the early 1980's. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bath was clean, but the tile floor was very dated.

The front desk staff was courteous and check in and out was fine. I used the fitness center and all was fine except the televisions did not work.

Buffet breakfast was good. I don't know what it cost as it was included with my conference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 190 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed overnight to visit my son at Purdue. Danielle at the front desk was very nice and knowledgeable making the check-in process quick and easy.

The housekeeping department could use a little help. I found a sock in our room that did not belong to any of us and the bathroom floors around the baseboards really should be cleaned.

Overall a very nice family place to stay and play.

Room Tip: The rooms around the atrium area are very noisy especially in the morning when you are trying to sle...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We most recently stayed here while visiting our son in college. The room was spacious and clean. There is a pool, hot tub, and workout room if you're so inclined. The breakfast bar was fresh and the food was delish! You can park easily, (which can be challenging at Purdue!), and it's just a few minutes from campus. It's close to a gigantic Walmart and Applebee's as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the atrium are noisier, but if you're planning to use the pool, they are c...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieC242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Big place with an atrium/pool in the middle. Seems to me this place is pretty old and tired, and in need of a little facelift. The carpet in my room was threadbare leading to the bathroom, and it was kinda dark.

The staff was friendly and attentive, and it's in a good location close to Purdue (if that's what you're interested in).

The fitness center looked like it had been redone recently - new equipment in excellent condition! However, the water bottle was empty when I arrived. I called to the desk and they said they would replace it. By the time I left an hour later, it still wasn't replaced. Pretty bad to not have water available in the fitness center!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually a nice surprise - moved here from the econo lodge - quiet, large room, price is reasonable and newly remodelled room. Its not the Ritz, but just fine and easy to get into and out of town from here. Probably will be back. It also has the high quality beds installed, so just like a Westin in sleep quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently at the end of November 2012. Under the new Sheraton Management there have been a lot of improvements, including fresh carpeting throughout and live plants that take chlorine smell out of the atrium pool area. The front desk staff was exceptional, and everything in the room was in good working order. On Friday afternoon I had the pool to myself and enjoyed a nice long soak in the very clean hot tub. Kudos to the new management!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor outside hall if you want to avoid the noise of kids playing in the a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Asked for a room away from people noise and got the bottom of the barrel. Hair behind bathroom door, not fresh and clean room, still heard noises from pool plus the chlorine smell, light bulb burnt out. Did not get my value for the price I paid. Would not recommend staying here until they remodel the building.

Room Tip: check room before moving luggage in & check behind bathroom doors for cleanliness.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetSIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Lafayette
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lafayette
Comfort Inn Lafayette
#9 of 23 in Lafayette
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn
Prestige Inn
#6 of 7 in West Lafayette
24 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette

Address: 1600 Cumberland Ave, West Lafayette, IN 47906-4043 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range: $116 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette is 171 unit atrium style full service hotel just a mile from the Purdue University campus and across the street from the Purdue Research Park. Onsite we offer over 14,000 sq ft of event space with breakout rooms. Our world famous Tailgate Bar and Grill that features weekly and nightly specials as well as select entertainment. Indoor pool and spa, outdoor pool, Free internet, Cable television with 42" screens, Business Center, Refrigerator and Microwaves upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza West Lafayette
Hotel University Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing