We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than you might think”
Review of Campus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campus Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Lafayette
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Campus Inn is older & looks a bit shabby on the outside but it is clean & comfortable inside. It has been well maintained. Style-wise, it is like many other older hotel you might visit around the country.
Given it's great location relative to the university & it's low cost, it's really a good value. If you just need a place to crash when visiting Purdue, I would definitely recommend it. It you are a value-conscious traveler, I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Campus Inn is a good value at a great location near Purdue. Being able to walk to campus and local restaurants is huge. The rooms are clean and well maintained. After years of staying here I can say that management has always been responsive and willing to work with my schedule changes, The value and location keep us coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been using this hotel for over 5 years on a regular basis. My room is basic, but always clean. The staff is consistant and courteous. The gentlemen that manages this property is very accomodating and has helped me out with on campus lodging on may occassions. You cannot beat the loacation The only better location is The Union, but requires planning one year in advance and is much more expensive.

Location, Location, Location.....

Room Tip: Get to know the manager, he will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I just checked out of this hotel. I had been staying there for the past two weeks and noticed that I was repeatedly getting bites on my back and shoulders. I decided to check the bed for bugs, found some, and reported it to the manager. He denied that the bugs I found in the bed were bud bugs and said that they were just "beetles". Why the hell are there bugs in my bed anyway! His denial makes me believe that he has no intention of trying to rid the room of bud bugs. Multiple doses of benadryl and my skin is still itching like crazy! Stay clear of this hotel or at least room 215.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler122222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Purdue deserves better. Visiting parents of new entering freshman -- do NOT stay at this hotel. The city of West Lafayette should step in and condemn this property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBtravelsSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I cannot say enough bad things about this place. Dirty, unsanitary, not worth $100/night. Not worth $50/night. Outrageously over priced. Management is thoroughly unhelpful, rude and unacoomodating. Particularly a man named Frank. There are 15 other places on rt. 26 to stay. Do that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jarkuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campusinn, Manager at Campus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Mr. Jarkuss reserved the room with one queen bed for Super Bowl weekend for two nights. Upon his check-in at midnight he realized he made a mistake & reserved 1 bed instead 2 beds. Though Campus Inn was not obligated to change the room type at check-in, the front desk personal informed him that we can change his room next day morning for second night provided he stop by next morning to complete the formalities. He voluntarily chose not to stop by next morning to change his room & arrived middle of night of his second night of stay to change the room.

We did our best to to resolve his problem but he chose not to take advantage of it instead he became rude to staff and to the manager middle of night because it didn't work the way he wanted.

We are sorry Mr. Jarkuss it didn't work out the way you wanted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were the only people in the "inn" until around 10. Management threatened to call police on my fiance and I when a friend stopped by room. Refused to give us more pillows or towels. Sex in the rooms on both sides of us was especially vigorous and loud for a Tuesday. Didn't get a bit of sleep. The other people in the "inn" left around 4 to give themselves enough time to sneak back into bed before their wives woke up.

I have no idea how this hotel is still in business. Do yourself a favor and shell out a few extra bucks for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BradZizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Lafayette
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 23 in Lafayette
501 reviews
2.4 mi away
Prestige Inn
Prestige Inn
#6 of 7 in West Lafayette
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Inn

Address: 200 Brown St, West Lafayette, IN 47906-3210 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range: $66 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Campus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing