We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campus Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campus Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been using this hotel for over 5 years on a regular basis. My room is basic, but always clean. The staff is consistant and courteous. The gentlemen that manages this property is very accomodating and has helped me out with on campus lodging on may occassions. You cannot beat the loacation The only better location is The Union, but requires planning one year in advance and is much more expensive.

Location, Location, Location.....

Room Tip: Get to know the manager, he will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    8
    7
    15
See reviews for
7
6
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I just checked out of this hotel. I had been staying there for the past two weeks and noticed that I was repeatedly getting bites on my back and shoulders. I decided to check the bed for bugs, found some, and reported it to the manager. He denied that the bugs I found in the bed were bud bugs and said that they were just "beetles". Why the hell are there bugs in my bed anyway! His denial makes me believe that he has no intention of trying to rid the room of bud bugs. Multiple doses of benadryl and my skin is still itching like crazy! Stay clear of this hotel or at least room 215.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler122222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lafayette hotels

sf
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Purdue deserves better. Visiting parents of new entering freshman -- do NOT stay at this hotel. The city of West Lafayette should step in and condemn this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBtravelsSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I cannot say enough bad things about this place. Dirty, unsanitary, not worth $100/night. Not worth $50/night. Outrageously over priced. Management is thoroughly unhelpful, rude and unacoomodating. Particularly a man named Frank. There are 15 other places on rt. 26 to stay. Do that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarkuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campusinn, Manager at Campus Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Mr. Jarkuss reserved the room with one queen bed for Super Bowl weekend for two nights. Upon his check-in at midnight he realized he made a mistake & reserved 1 bed instead 2 beds. Though Campus Inn was not obligated to change the room type at check-in, the front desk personal informed him that we can change his room next day morning for second night provided he stop by next morning to complete the formalities. He voluntarily chose not to stop by next morning to change his room & arrived middle of night of his second night of stay to change the room.

We did our best to to resolve his problem but he chose not to take advantage of it instead he became rude to staff and to the manager middle of night because it didn't work the way he wanted.

We are sorry Mr. Jarkuss it didn't work out the way you wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were the only people in the "inn" until around 10. Management threatened to call police on my fiance and I when a friend stopped by room. Refused to give us more pillows or towels. Sex in the rooms on both sides of us was especially vigorous and loud for a Tuesday. Didn't get a bit of sleep. The other people in the "inn" left around 4 to give themselves enough time to sneak back into bed before their wives woke up.

I have no idea how this hotel is still in business. Do yourself a favor and shell out a few extra bucks for a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BradZizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place is quite a dive in poor shape. You would think you're back in the 60's. On the positive side, the beds were comfy and the location is perfect for Purdue activities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I recently stayed at the Campus Inn, West Lafayette (formally the Travelodge back when I was on campus) while attending the SE Missouri State v Purdue game. On football weekends, the rooms are $99/nt & have a two night minimum. The rooms should be about $39/nt. The furniture and linens were very worn. The room lacked basic cleanliness. The only reason I didn't give this establishment a 1-star is its proximity to campus and Chauncey Hill/Levee area businesses. With the recent re-development of Wabash Landing, it's amazing that the property has not been purchased and this out-dated motel knocked down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Prestige Inn
Prestige Inn
#4 of 6 in West Lafayette
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Inn

Property: Campus Inn
Address: 200 Brown St, West Lafayette, IN 47906-3210 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Campus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing