We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and Lively”

Nine Irish Brothers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nine Irish Brothers is an award-winning traditional Irish pub--recently named the Best Irish Pub in the State of Indiana by Yelp and Buzzfeed--with two convenient locations in Greater Lafayette, Indiana, and a third location in the heart of Massachusetts Avenue in Indianapolis. Our family-owned-and-operated restaurant serves premium Irish food and spirits and has a full bar and menu, with items ranging from salads to steak to Irish favorites such as Guinness Stew, Shepherd's Pie, and Fish & Chips. Well-behaved patrons of all ages are welcome from 11 a.m. to 10 p.m., unless circumstances prohibit minors (e.g. large, rowdy bands). Nine Irish Brothers is proud to be smoke-free. We also feature live Irish entertainment on most weekend nights. We take reservations for parties of six or more people.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loud and Lively”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a great place to get together with friends. Large portions of very good food and great beverages. Friendly staff and the even the owners "wait" tables. Good Irish music (live and canned); lots of sports on the tellies.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyCatFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    106
    29
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat and drink”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Guinness on tap, Irish music abounds, Portions plentiful. Parking can be problematic! Do not park over in the abundance of parking in the strip mall across the street. Your car will be towed and cost a minimum of $200 to reclaim! Best to park in the garage about 3 blocks away and pay the minimal cost! 9 Irish has outdoor seating on the back patio which is wonderful in good weather!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great taste, not for the hungry”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our second time here for the good food and great service from our waiter Jason. Everyone always has high compliments on the food. The only complaint I have worth noting is the portion size. I ordered a featured entree for dinner called Salmon pinwheels and they were delicious, but honestly I really would need two orders to consider it a meal. Thankfully my daughter had an Irish BLT that came with pub fries that I was able to share. Our last visit, I had a similar experience with a $10 sandwich that was incredibly skimpy. I'm not a big eater but would expect heartier portions in a well known Irish Pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wausau_WIWapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We found this restaurant on trip advisor while we were visiting Purdue. The Pub met all our expectations! Atmosphere was so fun and traditional to the Irish theme. The food was authentic Irish fare and very good. Our server was friendly and helpful. They have a map of Ireland with all the family crests, so we were able to find our family and our god daughters families. All of us really enjoyed O'Bryan's Nine Irish Brothers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I am fortunate to live in West Lafayette, home of Nine Irish Brothers. I love the lively, fun, and casual atmosphere at Nine Irish and It's one of my favorite places to go for a beer or two--they have a good variety of beer and they have a full bar to serve other drinks. I love their Guinness beef stew; the Shepherd's Pie is wonderful too. The service is good and the owner(s) are on-site making sure everyone has a good experience. They have an outdoor seating area which is delightful in warmer weather and they have heating equipment in the outdoor area for the sometimes chilly evenings in spring and fall. Parking used to be a problem but they created another parking lot across the street and that has eliminated the problem of not being able to find a place to park.

I would give it five stars except for two things: my fiancé ordered the fish sandwich one time and was presented with a paltry serving of fish on the bun. It looked like they had run out of fish and put their last scraps of fish together on the bun and called it good. It's possible that was a rare occurrence but it was disappointing. The other thing is that the restroom facilities are limited. There are two restrooms for women but each accommodates only one person at a time. While this maintains the pub feel, it also creates long waits to use the restroom at times so just be prepared to wait a bit.

Overall, Nine Irish Brothers is not a place to be missed. They have a second location in Lafayette too for those who don't want to come over to West Lafayette. One more note: if you go on a weekend when there is live music (which is always excellent), be prepared--the music is great and it's also quite loud.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Irish Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Nine Irish Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing