We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking Charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Parking Charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This property is "different" in a way. The hotel is connected/situated in a shopping plaza that is devoid of any tenants and is basically "dead". There's a sports bar serving good pub fare behind the hotel and a Starbucks just a short 1 minute walk away. The rooms are ok...clean and well-maintained. Being basically on the Purdue campus, I expected the hotel to have a "vibe" associated with it. Zilch. Has no pulse. Although there's a restaurant serving breakfast, no one seem to be there -- and I've stayed here twice in the past 6 months.

You must pay to park in the garage connected. I think the garage is owned by the City and HGI has spaces reserved for their guests on the upper decks. Parking is $3 per day and you have "parking card" that you must use to enter and exit the garage. However, the day you check out, you MUST deposit the parking card in a box by the gate as you leave. Otherwise you will be charged $25 for non-return of the card. This parking card looks like your room key card except a different color. I was charged $25 on my American Express 10 days after leaving the hotel and called to complain. That's when I found out about the "non return" of the parking card. I just wished the hotel staff informed me of this when I checked in. Thankfully, they agreed to reverse the charge. Just be sure you return the parking card when you leave.

Overall, the hotel is "ok" as I ordered room service from an Italian eatery next door. The staff is very efficient and business like. It's clean and if you do business with Purdue or attending a conference, it's a good place to stay. Just has no pulse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QPitmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the parking charges. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    170
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
192
63
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is closer to the Purdue University as compared to the Holiday Inn which is across the Wabash River. A walk to the hotel from the Purdue Memorial Union is about 10 minutes.

It is a clean and quite hotel, with welcome tea and cookies at the desk. They have a nice buffet breakfast but the items do not change from day to day which makes it a bit of a repeat. Also there is no food on call as the restaurant is only open at the time of breakfast,

They have a nice pool which I not try as it was in the deep of winter! Good place to try and surely recommend

Room Tip: Choose the large business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for our hotel. These reviews give us the opportunity to constantly evaluate and improve our help.

The staff and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regard,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Clean, comfortable, professional staff and great breakfast. I had a nice stay on a stressful trip. Fresh baked cookies, coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby at no charge. Restaurants and a movie theatre in short walking distance in the ajoining shopping area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that we were able to make a stressful situation a little less stressful and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you will choose the Hilton Garden Inn/West Lafayette again if you are back in the area.

Warm Regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel was clean. Staff was great! Food was perfect! Great place, and a great value!!! The kids loved the pool. Said if felt like bath water! The things to do outside the hotel were extremely abundant as well. All within walking distance. The ice rink, park, walking path, dining, movie theatre. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyguy1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
The staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!! We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and clean. Friendly staff. The fitness center and pool were both quite nice....although I did not actually use the pool. The room was immaculate. The only negative was that the buffet breakfast was rather average.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review, the staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We know you have many choices of hotels in the Lafayette/West Lafayette area so thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay. It is located near to Purdue University. I stayed at this hotel in 2010 due to my business travel. I really enjoyed there, especially the swimming pool. The hotel also had free coffee in the lobby. The staffs were friendly and hospitable however they were a bit conservative. I should add that the shuttle drivers at the hotel was excellent and helped me so much. Overall, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and reasonable for staying in West Lafayette. I had a good time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn/West Lafayette again and for the positive review, we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next stay!

Best Regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Friendly front desk staff answered all our questions and the shuttle driver to Purdue was charming! Got a local's view of the college town and potential changes under a new president (the former governor of IN). Clean rooms, decent breakfast. Beds were on the hard side, but it was only one night. Ask for a room overlooking the fountain and bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the fountain & bridge on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunFamilyAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGenMgr, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future, here at the Hilton Garden Inn/West Lafayette!

Best regards,
Christy Kuntz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 21 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Lafayette
Courtyard Lafayette
#6 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
Address: 356 East State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected and comfortable at Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing. Centrally located, local transportation runs between the hotel and a range of local attractions. Park in the parking garage. Keep working in the complimentary Business Center. Use the latest audio/visual equipment to assist with presentations and host your meeting in a fully equipped, spacious meeting room with professional support staff. Grab a snack from the Pavilion Pantry(R) convenience store, enjoy an invigorating workout in the fitness room or relax with a swim in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette Hotel West Lafayette
Hilton West Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing