We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort Food - Fun atmosphere!”

Triple XXX Family Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The 1st Drive-In in Indiana! Serving delicious burgers & the best root beer! Breakfast all-day! Featured on The Food Network "Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives!"
Worthington, OH
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food - Fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went to the Triple XXX Family Restaurant after a football game. Line was out the door, but it moved fairly quickly. Service was great and food is not fancy but tastes great. If you are not counting calories - get a shake - and/or try the "Drew Brees" - SO GOOD!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    170
    48
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“remember when”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband remembers coming here as a kid. Very 1950's. Hamburgers were good if you like skinny flat burgers. I, myself like those very fat juicy burgers. My husband had the Boilermaker Pete with onion rings and I had the Bernie Flowers All-Pro with fries. Try the onion rings they are good. The root beer was very good. We even brought a six pack home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuts4mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“I guess it's a tradition, but don't go if you are on a diet”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Retro burger joint that has some history. Kind of interesting and amusing to check out, but food is pretty much right out of the 50's. Nothing there for people who don't like fried animal flesh. It looks like most people ate thin, wide hamburgers fried on a grill, served with french fries. The root beer is pretty good, as you would expect. Everyone sits at a counter, so don't plan to have any private conversations. I had some chile, which was OK (pretty heavy on the beans). Must be popular, as several people on our college tour recommended it and it was crowded. I wouldn't say it was cheap; spent a little more than expected for burgers and fries.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshalltownMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, KY, United States
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food, retro atmosphere”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Heard a lot about the place so when staying in Lafayette I had dinner there. The facility is small, crowded, and very typical of the 1950's roadside diner you'd find on Route 66 or elsewhere. Friendly staff. I had heard about the burgers. Looking around, they didn't seem very special so I opted for the breakfast. Very good, very traditional. In all, a good place to eat, love the dive-like atmosphere, and food is good but not up to what I'd heard.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty Burgers”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My friends and I stopped here for dinner after the Indy 500. We were staying in Lafayette, so not far of a drive for us (and we got to check out Purdue University when we were done). The waitress was helpful and efficient. My friends and I all had burgers - three of us had the one with peanut butter on it and the other had the other burger featured on Diners, Drive Inns and Dives. The burgers were really tasty. I don't think I'd order peanut butter on my burger again (I couldn't really tell it was on there) but it seemed to work. I also tried the Triple XXX famous chili and my first bite I thought I was eating a can of Hormel Chili. It wasn't bad chili, but I think I could make better stuff :). The root beer, for which the place is named after, is delicious and I'm glad I had some. Also, beware of the tiny bathroom!! Not much room to move! Only other complaint was that the cashier was having trouble giving out change (either gave out too much or not enough). I probably wouldn't go there again, but nice to say I've tried it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazy4Casinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple XXX Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Triple XXX Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing