We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great campus”
Review of Purdue University

Purdue University
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great campus”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

In addition to being a top university, Purdue has a wonderful campus to visit. It is an open campus, and many buildings have self-guided tours. For a more formal visit, contact the Development Office.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    47
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a walking tour”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I live only a short distance from campus and frequently walk around the campus for one of my walks. When we first arrived in West Lafayette 30+ years ago, there was virtually no aesthetic beauty to the campus. It looked like a school of engineering--very sterile with no soul to it at all. That has changed. With autos moved off campus, new walkways created, fountains built or restored, and hidden gardens planted, it has become an attractive campus. It is possible to enter most of the buildings, although there is no access to the labs unless you are hosted by a researcher. The new Pao Arts Building has a couple very good galleries; there is also a fine gallery in Stewart Center. The on-campus restaurants in Purdue Memorial Union are quite good, especially the one on the second floor which tends toward a fine dining experience. As always, there is construction going on; but that can be avoided. Purdue is not the prettiest major university campus in America, but it definitely has its merits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iskindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean campus! Impressive!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My daughter and her friend were there for a cheerleading clinic. We stayed the night at the Union Club Hotel, which is on campus, and drove to the Mackey Center. The town of West Lafayette, and the university are both clean. The stadium is impressive, and the campus is just as beautiful as any in a big city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fromroyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hail, hail to old Purdue!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We love Purdue! Each time we visit our alma mater we find the campus has gotten better and better! The architecture is beautiful, it is a great campus to walk, and the people are always friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAT46737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great University”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Love Purdue. Boiler up!
Beautiful campus- very walkable.
Make sure to see the fountains and the Bell Tower.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemini5930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdue University also viewed

 
West Lafayette, IN
 

Been to Purdue University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing