We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst Experience Ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Unfortunately, I find the need to report that this was the worst hotel experience that my husband and I have ever experienced. We checked a few minutes before their normal check in time. When we got to our room we found out that this non-smoking hotel was just the opposite. The room was so badly filled with odors from smoking that we couldn't stand it. We reported it and the front desk person said that the hotel was full and she didn't have another room for us. She was kind and apologized, but her hands were tied. She made note on our reservation that we were not the smokes. She did explain that some construction people smoke in a lot of the rooms and it has been a continuous problems. We could smell a smoke odor in the hallway towards the end we were at. Our room was much worse that the hallway. Although we tried to use the room, my husband had to leave it for some fresh air at about 3 am and went to the lobby. I opened the window to bring in some fresh air and froze myself out. While in the lobby, my husband was told, by another front desk employee, that the hotel has some problems with construction people that smoke. However, since it is a non-smoking facility, they will be force to call the police and fine the previous person who rented the room. She knew who “he” was. She as going to talk to the manager and see if we could be compensated for the miserable night we had spent. She also explained the cleaning person can’t smell and has a gadget that registers smoke. She was so busy getting the rooms ready for the next bunch of people that she probably skipped that step. We explained to her that the smoke smell was not from someone smoking in the room for just a night or two. We never smelled smoke that strong. When my husband, called the manager on Monday, he was spoken to very rudely. The manager lied, based on what both of the front desk girls had said that they knew who had used the room. He told us that the room had not been used in 2 weeks and that no one has ever complained about the room. He also said he wasn't doing anything for us and that he didn't care if we told anyone about the his hotel. One thing we are curious about is if your company normally does business with these kinds of hotels? Can you assist us in getting a refund from this manager? I did ask my husband to not contact the BBB or anyone else until I had a chance to contact you. It really seemed like the only fair way to go about this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxdout38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    9
    11
See reviews for
13
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here on the way to Chicago. The hotel was easy to find from the expressway. Unfortunately, a previous traveler had smoked in the non-smoking room. When I told the staff they immediately offered us another room but we were too tired to move. So, they told us how to make the air more comfortable. In the morning they told us that they had found the previous occupants in a database, had posted the complaint, and those travelers would be boycotted from future stays in non-smoking hotels. I appreciated the concern the staff showed to us.

The room was large, very clean, and recently refurbished. The shower was strong and hot. Our room faced the back and was very quiet. The continental breakfast was adequate to our needs.

Overall, I was happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
988 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cheap, cheap, cheap....but with it comes noise - the air conditioner kind of drowns it out. Over for the Purdue game and only place I could find for the night. Moved to the Sheraton the next day. Not much more I can say about this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lafayette hotels

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed at nice hotels and much worse. It is what you would expect from the name. It was cheap and had zero amenities. If you just need a cheap place to stay for the night and a hot shower while you are visiting Purdue the Econo Lodge will fulfill that need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm a Purdue grad and brought some friends down for the Purdue v. Michigan football game. This hotel brought our weekend down a notch. I am ashamed that I graduated from a university that has businesses that are so cut throat and our only there to profit off the students families and friends that are borrowing money from banks for student loans. This hotel charged me $180 to hold a room that I NEVER CHECKED IN TO for the evening. I see the typical starting rate is $50 a night.... They charged me 3x that much just to RESERVE a room. What a lazy society we live in that individuals such as Jack Patel will charge 3x the going rate for a room he didn't have to lift a finger, oh wait he lifted his finger to press enter on his computer and charge my card $180!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEFUNIAK SPRINGS
Level Contributor
216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this location, and will stay again. Very clean, good value, within walking distance of a Wendys and Taco Bell. Staff was very friendly and they were quick to help you with any thing you needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdaniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were in area for graduation party..I made several reservations for family members which had to be changed more than twice. Staff were extremely helpful and considerate when calling them to change the reservations.. In addition when a hair dryer didn't work at 10:30 at night, staff found me one that did. Room was clean. For travelers it is just off interstate 65 which makes it convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grams72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
4.6 mi away
Prestige Inn
Prestige Inn
#5 of 6 in West Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lafayette
Comfort Inn Lafayette
#9 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2030 Northgate Dr, West Lafayette, IN 47906-9038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing