We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“really noisy on the road” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
909 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“really noisy on the road”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cheap, cheap, cheap....but with it comes noise - the air conditioner kind of drowns it out. Over for the Purdue game and only place I could find for the night. Moved to the Sheraton the next day. Not much more I can say about this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    8
    11
See reviews for
12
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed at nice hotels and much worse. It is what you would expect from the name. It was cheap and had zero amenities. If you just need a cheap place to stay for the night and a hot shower while you are visiting Purdue the Econo Lodge will fulfill that need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm a Purdue grad and brought some friends down for the Purdue v. Michigan football game. This hotel brought our weekend down a notch. I am ashamed that I graduated from a university that has businesses that are so cut throat and our only there to profit off the students families and friends that are borrowing money from banks for student loans. This hotel charged me $180 to hold a room that I NEVER CHECKED IN TO for the evening. I see the typical starting rate is $50 a night.... They charged me 3x that much just to RESERVE a room. What a lazy society we live in that individuals such as Jack Patel will charge 3x the going rate for a room he didn't have to lift a finger, oh wait he lifted his finger to press enter on his computer and charge my card $180!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lafayette hotels

DEFUNIAK SPRINGS
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this location, and will stay again. Very clean, good value, within walking distance of a Wendys and Taco Bell. Staff was very friendly and they were quick to help you with any thing you needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdaniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were in area for graduation party..I made several reservations for family members which had to be changed more than twice. Staff were extremely helpful and considerate when calling them to change the reservations.. In addition when a hair dryer didn't work at 10:30 at night, staff found me one that did. Room was clean. For travelers it is just off interstate 65 which makes it convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grams72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old and worn BUT you can tell it's CLEAN. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location was good. Right off the highway. Gas station, Taco Bell and Mcdonald's were all right there. If you need a place to park your carcass for the night, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The GM for this hotel (Jack) listed the room as $16.00 for the night. I made the reservation, it was secured via my credit card, and i got a confirmation stating that it was $18 after tax. When we arrived, Jack said that HE made an error and that we owed $160, not $16. Because there were other customers behind me waiting to check in, he let me go to the room, unpack, and then called 15 minutes later to kick me out. He said if I wouldnt pay extra I couldnt keep MY RESERVATION! He started making threats about how we had security cameras and was going to charge my credit card ("I already have your number on file!) if he saw me enter the hotel to crash with another guest. Now, I am traveling 3 hours out of town. Its football weekend. There are NO hotels. And I can't afford this insane $144 markup. SO, I am left to SLEEP IN MY CAR based on his error! Another guest in the lobby was as appauled as I was. He even admitted it was his mistake but still would not honor the reservation. I am dissgusted, absolutely disgusted at this "service"

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lafayette
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - West Lafayette
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lafayette
Comfort Inn Lafayette
#9 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Prestige Inn
Prestige Inn
#4 of 6 in West Lafayette
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 21 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
4.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton West Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2030 Northgate Dr, West Lafayette, IN 47906-9038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > West Lafayette
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing