We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechuan Garden

Szechuan Garden
Ranked #21 of 132 Restaurants in West Lafayette
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chalmers, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was shocked to look at Trip Advisors recent posts and see the poor results had by others. I admit the place is the highest priced Chinese restaurant in the area. No buffet (which is a good thing in my book). They have one order taker, can't call her a server, someone else serves the food. Service was slow for sure. One person taking care of the orders for a half filled room. But if you go with the experience. Ambience not bad. Food was pretty good. Had the combination appetizer platter. Enjoyed the variety and done well topped with some super spicy horseradish laden mustard sauce. Yum... My daughters Shrimp Lo Mein might not have been the best we have had, but was good. Ok so the food was not exceptional, still not bad. We enjoyed this place. Interested now to see everyone else's take on this establishment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adventraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Do not lose your time to eat here…even for free is not worth it…Horrible food, taste like nothing…cheap and awful!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoshyMonteCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Flavorless food. Hard to see how they stay in business, although there really is no competition in the area since good Chinese food is maddeningly hard to find.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank indybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a terrible place. We orded 4 meals but found that meat and shimps were not fresh.
We argued with the owner but they would not replace anything.
We will never be there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good ambiance & food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you want a bit of ambiance as well as good Szechuan food, this is the place in W. Laf. I'd recommend. We get carry out here more than dining in--just my husband's preference.

Helpful?
Thank GoBoilers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Garden also viewed

West Lafayette, IN
 
West Lafayette, IN
West Lafayette, IN
 

Been to Szechuan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing