We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers for grown ups”

Scotty's Brew House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Burgers for grown ups”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Holy cow! Lotta cow in that burger. Swiss /mushroom/onion was a great combination! Should have ordered one and split it. Waffle fries were tasty. Impressive beer list, too. Great place to spend an afternoon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    75
    37
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“out of the way, good restaurant”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good beer, good food. Service is better than average for a college town, but not great. If you're staying at the HIlton, this is a great location. Dining on the patio is lovely in the summer months.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank crazymugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for after the game or anytime!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wide variety of food options on the menu as well and beer, wine and other drinks. TV's are spaced around the restaurant for sports watching. If you go to Scotty's after a PURDUE sports event, you are likely to see several of the athletes also dining there or picking up take-out. There can be a wait for tables after a university event, but the line seems to move quickly ( within 45 min.). Many of the tables are high tops with highbacked stools, silverware comes wrapped in a small handtowel/napkin and servers are eye level!

Our party enjoyed a range of food from the bison burgers, chicken dishes and choose your own topping burger. The "Monster" is a large gooey chocolate chip cookie topped wtih 4 scoops of vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce - a delightful end to a meal and to be shared by all!!

We have never had a bad dining experience at Scotty's!
IT can get a little loud - but it's basically a sports bar, so that can be expected!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, great service!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I became unexpectedly stranded in Lafayette in an ice storm and this restaurant was next door to my hotel. How lucky! I was so tired and hungry from the dangerous driving and was a walk-in. They were so welcoming! I sat at the bar and the service was excellent. My server suggested great choices on their menu (she knew the menu very well) and my meal was great. The atmosphere was good for the sports bar crowd and the families there as well.

Great value, great service! Wish there was one in Chicago!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Home of the largest and best prepared chicken wings around, my business colleagues and I make it a point to stop here at least once during our annual pilgrimage to attend a professional educational conference at nearby Purdue University. The atmosphere is lively, loud and energetic, but that's what you sign-up for when you come in the evenings. There are plenty of flat sceens to "watch the game", while you wash down their tasty wings, sandwiches, burgers and mac & cheese with an ice cold brew. My only beef, their recently revised menu unfortunately no longer offers the scrumptious baby back ribs we devour every January (?)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Brew House also viewed

 

Been to Scotty's Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing