We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is a "Bucket List" venue!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Baden Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Baden Springs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is a "Bucket List" venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Several years ago on a trip to the French Lick/West Baden Springs area my wife and I toured the abandoned and sadly in disrepair West Baden Springs hotel. The plan at the time was to restore the property to its original brilliance. Recently my wife and I made plans to re-visit the property and see the transformation.

Words cannot truly do justice for this marvel of engineering. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in America and I can say without reservation that West Baden Springs is FAR AND AWAY my favorite. You simply cannot capture the beauty of the property in photos. Once inside it is easy to forget that you are far from the glitz and glamor of Broadway or the elegance and panache of old Hollywood. West Baden Springs delivers on every level with exceptional service, world class amenities, outstanding dining options and the most relaxing location I have yet to encounter. Our stay was so peaceful and refreshing my wife and I did something we have never done before at the end of a stay: we went to the car and loaded up to leave - looked at each other - and then promptly walked back to hotel, purchased a cup of coffee and sat down on the spacious veranda to soak in a few more moments of heaven. I always hate to have a wonderful stay come to an end, but neither my wife nor I wanted to leave. I suppose that's the most compelling argument I could make for why you should pay a visit to Southern Indiana and discover this Eighth Wonder of The World. I checked it off of my bucket list only to add it back in a few more times. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    198
    47
    22
    8
See reviews for
304
894
35
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful place with a wonderful staff. It was the place of my grandpa's first job, so it isn't only beautiful place it is a link in my family's history. The rooms are gorgeous and so are the grounds.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Who would expect to find such a place in southern Indiana? It is a beautiful place with such an interesting history. We were not at all interested in the casino but found the grounds and the room at the West Baden Springs comfortable and relaxing. We wish we were able to spend more time there exploring the grounds and trying out the spa.

Room Tip: If you get an interior room, you can look into the beautiful atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planneroftrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satchel7426
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

A visit to French Lick is like doing time travel back to the Gilded Age of America. The West Baden Hotel in particular is absolutely stunning! The atrium in and of itself is amazing! It is 67 steps from one side to the other (so about 200 feet across) and approximately 100 feet high. At night the lights in the ceiling change color so be sure to have a drink at the bar in the lobby and just enjoy the entire experience.

All the hotel rooms are first class and the restaurants were all wonderful. The Casino was a bit of a disappointment because smoking was permitted but I realize many people still have the habit so they must accommodate.

If you play golf, the Ross Course is very enjoyable and challenging even though it is short by todays standards. This is because of all the elevation changes, rolling terrain, and undulations of the greens. The Dye Course is spectacular in every way! The conditioning, the layout, everything. Too bad the fee is so much. ($350) Oh well, it's a once in a lifetime place and should prove to be a good venue for the 2015 Sr. PGA Championship.

Bottom Line - It is pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the atrium are more expensive and you really don't spend that much time in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satchel7426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I'm so glad this hotel was brought back from the dead--it was reopened less than ten years ago. It has returned to its former glory, and what a glory it is--the atrium itself is a wonder! This is the perfect getaway place, to sip a drink in the atrium, read a book on one of the many rocking chairs on the large veranda or take a spa treatment at prices comparable to back home. They hold several special events and it would be worth it to schedule your trip during one of them--the next time I certainly will!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veroniquegerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Besides the elevator, who's key card slot doesn't seem to want to work, this hotel is amazing. We have stayed here several times and I am still always in awe of the beauty. This is a must see to really appreciate the grand beauty of this resort hotel. We will most definitely be back to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennStro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

There are dogs everywhere. I saw dogs when checking in, in the atrium, at the pool, in the hotel hallways, in the gardens, and while walking around the property. Some are big dogs that the owners seem to be having a problem controlling. We were woke up by dogs barking in the atrium at 7:00 AM one morning so we were not free from the dog influence even when asleep in our room. Otherwise we love it there.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the atrium have some noise but it is usually worth it for the view of the atri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indy_golfer_317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken V, Guest Relations Manager at West Baden Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I was concerned to hear about your experience with the noise, because we understand that one of the things you expect most when staying at a hotel is a good night's sleep. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the problems, although I know that does not change your experience. I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Baden Springs
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Lick
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jasper
Hampton Inn Jasper
#1 of 5 in Jasper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
21.1 mi away
Days Inn Jasper
Days Inn Jasper
#2 of 5 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Baden Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Baden Springs Hotel

Property: West Baden Springs Hotel
Address: c/o French Lick Resort, 8670 W. State Road 56, West Baden Springs, IN 47432
Location: United States > Indiana > West Baden Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Baden Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Baden Springs Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your West Baden Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Baden Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing