We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Baden Springs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$289
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$161
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus French Lick(French Lick)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites French Lick(French Lick)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$113
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,928)
Filter reviews
1,928 results
Traveler rating
1,595
241
55
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,595
241
55
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench stickfrench lick resortatrium viewbalcony roomhistoric hotelpete dye coursesister propertyspa servicesstep back in timehorseback ridingrocking chairswet barhistoric tourwest baden and french lickcarriage ridefree shuttleshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,488 - 1,493 of 1,928 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have been vacationing in this area for over 15yrs, prior to the Casino being built and prior to this beautiful hotel being resurrected. I've always wanted to stay at West Baden Springs Hotel and decided to treat my sister for her 50th birthday April 2013. We had such a great experience that on my drive home I called the reservation line and booked a room for my daughter and I for Mother's Day 2013!

Room Tip: Inside balconies (4th & 6th floor) are the best, you just open your balcony doors and either a pianist, harpist or jazz trio are playing in the atrium. The 6th floor balcony made my daughter and I a little dizzy...I will request a 4th floor inside balcony next year.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our second trip to West Baden and it was just as amazing as the first. We checked in on Friday stayed the night no problems. We had a beautiful King Balcony room. The King Balcony rooms look out over the atrium (dome room). Do not even bother staying here unless you're willing to pay for a King balcony. The experience is worth the cash. The second day of our stay we had to move out of our room b/c of a water pipe break. They moved us into a junior suite overlooking the grounds. We were NOT happy about it and after we ate breakfast we went to the front desk to see if any of the Balcony rooms had opened up. Not only did they put us in another balcony room since ours had the water break they put us in the Anniversary Suite AND gave us chocolate covered strawberries AND a discount on our room for all the trouble. ALL the staff is friendly and give first class service. You truly do get what you pay for and you're paying a lot to stay there so they treat you like royalty. The food at West Baden is delicious. My Husband said if you don't like the food it's you not them HA HA! We did not use the spa services but the spa is lovely and some of our family got pedicures and were very happy they did get a spa service. There is an indoor and outdoor heated pool and indoor hot tub. The restaurants stay open till Midnight but there is 24 hour in room dining. They offer hotel tours three times a day. We didn't get to go on the tour but we plan on doing it next time. It's ten dollars a person for the tour. They offer bicycle rentals and horse back riding and the French Lick casino is just a 24 hour shuttle ride away and the Casino is open 24 hours. You owe it to yourself to go here at least once in your life. Be prepared to spend a lot of money so you can have an absolutely amazing time (dining, spa, casino, etc). LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The West Baden is very grand, especially the atrium. The grounds were not as manicured as our last visit, but it looked like they were getting started with their annual maintenance by the time we left. The service and check in were excellent. The room was nice. It was not perfectly clean when we checked in, but we must have gotten a different housekeeper the next night because it improved greatly. When we checked in, there was a glass in the bathroom that had what looked like mascara on it, but was supposed to be clean. Also, there was a thin layer of dust on the furniture. The pool was fabulous. We had it all to ourselves at the time we were there.

The West Baden is pricier than the French Lick Resort. If you want the atrium then it's worth it. Otherwise, I'd recommend saving the money and staying at the French Lick Resort instead. The French Lick is more convenient to the Casino, Bowling, Golf, etc. The fine dining options at both hotels are pricey. French Lick has more moderately priced dining options.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlooking the atrium are very small, but the view of the atrium is fabulous. The other rooms that overlook the atrium do not have doors that open. On the weekends they have music in the atrium that you could hear clearly from your room if you had a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We picked West Badin becaue it was a relatively easy drive from Cincinnati. We had visited there many years ago and it was in shambles and certainly did't look salvagable. Well when we saw what the Cook's and others had done to it we were amazed at the beauty and attention to detail. We took a tour of the Hotel and it has a fascinationg hisotory that makes it's current condition even more fasciantion. If you go be sure and spend a few bucks and take the tour.

The staff were all very friendly and there was NO CHARGE FOR VALET PARKING!!!!!!

The room was gorgeously appointed, clean and quite.

Room Tip: You can get rooms overlooking the grounds (what we had) or looking out onto the atrium. Talking with others the rooms over looking the grounds were much quieter and felt much more private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenD171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first visit. Too short of an overnite stay. Will return and schedule more time. Fabulous, historic property and grounds. We enjoyed a large, beautifully appointed, outside room. A lite dinner and drinks in the atrium, with the piano music in the background was delightful. Morning room service and breakfast was excellent. Rates are pricey, but you certainly get the value for the dollar spent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrynPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews