We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel; great rooms; visit atrium even if you don't stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Baden Springs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
345 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel; great rooms; visit atrium even if you don't stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Even if you do not stay here, stop & see the public areas (gardens, atrium, shops). The restoration of this 100+ yr old hotel is wonderful and the huge, domed atrium is worth a visit. The gardens are also lovely and there is a nice paved path between this hotel and the French Lick casino (approx 1 mile walk each way). Or, the hotels provide free shuttle service between them.

Our room (outside view) was very beautiful & spacious. Bathroom was one of the most beautiful I have seen in this country - higher marble counter with double sinks, glass shower stall, and separate tub.

Note: although hotel has resort feel and feels formal, no one was dressed formally.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    215
    49
    24
    8
See reviews for
336
961
37
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is our second trip to this resort in six months. My husband and I love it. I wish I could afford it more often!! It totally relaxes us. From lounging around in the atrium,listening to live Harp music, to taking long walks between the French Lick and West Baden properties. This time we took a long walk to the stables. We were never bored because we were there to relax and do nothing! Our room was wonderful and very clean. We made reservations for my daughter and her husband to go there soon. Sinclairs was great for breakfast. The stuffed french toast was wonderful. We decided to splurge and eat there for dinner. We were very disappointed with our dinner. Very expensive, very small portions and my scallops were not fresh. Hagens was really great. Food and atmosphere was wonderful. I would definitely recommend staying at the West Baden Springs Hotel if you want a total relaxing experience.

Room Tip: We actually stayed in a room facing the outside for both of our stays and really enjoyed overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the minute you enter the property through the arched entrance you will be transported to a very unique experience. The hotel's beauty is beyond compare. The gardens are lovely. Request a room that faces the atrium...it is breathtaking. Every member of the staff that we had contact with was very knowledgable, friendly, and very happy to have the opportunity to work in a first class venue. Looking forward to going back for another relaxing visit.

Room Tip: If you want to have a unique room get a reservation for the 6th floor or the 4th floor facing the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmgirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent two days at West Baden for our "mini" honeymoon. We were upgraded to a suite, which was very nice, but I'm sure all of their rooms are great. As we were settling into our room, we discovered the wifi wasn't working. They got IT with us quickly (even though it was late in the evening), but after some attempts he determined that room just had an insignificant signal, so we were moved to another room. The new room was the same "type", but a very different layout. Assumingly, since the hotel has been renovated for many different uses over the years, there is not a lot of consistency in the rooms. Our new room had wifi, but still struggled with it. I'm sure a steel dome that's over 100 years old is not easy to bring into the 21st century, but it was quite frustrating, especially because the cell phone service in the area in poor as well.

The French Lick area is great for a beautiful and relaxing getaway, but relaxing can also translate into boring. It certainly didn't help that we were there on a Monday and Tuesday in April- the place was pretty dead. We're not gamblers, so we spent a few minutes walking around the casino, and one race at the go karts in town. We went to the water park in town, but the four slides which were the only aspects for "big kids" can only keep your interest for so long. If there is a "night life" in the area, we couldn't find it.

All of the food we had was more than we usually like to spend, but also very good. Loved Chicago's Pizza and also Mickie's in town. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet at The Grand Colonnade, dessert at Ballard's Bar, and lunch at Hagen's- all fantastic!

Both resorts, spas, and golf courses are all part of the same conglomerate. That aids in convenience in that a free shuttle is offered, and meals at any of the numerous restaurants at either hotel can be charged to your room. But it also means that there is no competition, so they can set prices at whatever they want, and I assume that even though there are so many restaurants, that the food at each is probably the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rslilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many five star hotels. The West Baden hotel beats them all. It is not cheap, but considering what you are getting, it should not be. Staying at the West Baden gives a person the option of using the French Lick hotel property as well via a free shuttle bus that runs between the properties. It is very relaxing to sit in the atrium and simply enjoy the view. The hotel has a wonderful stable that offers trail rides and carriage rides are available as well.

Room Tip: I would advise an atrium view room, fourth floor or six floor, as these floors have interior view ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we didn't stay there, but just take a look and walk around to take some pictures. There is a grand hall inside, with lots of sofa, you can sit everywhere you like to take picture and relax.
Outside there is a balcony, you can also relax there, with the garden view, very good. I especially love the garden, as there are a number of pink trees, very beautiful, it's really a perfect place for people taking wedding photos.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ELKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

West Baden and French Lick are two beautiful hotels. You just cannot believe the magnificence of the properties. The golf courses are gorgeous and the food is wonderful. It's wonderful to experience the life as lived in the early 20th century. A must see place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGrandmaOfSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Baden Springs
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus French Lick
0.9 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
22.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
1.0 mi away
French Lick Springs Hotel
French Lick Springs Hotel
#1 of 5 in French Lick
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Baden Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Baden Springs Hotel

Property: West Baden Springs Hotel
Address: c/o French Lick Resort, 8670 W. State Road 56, West Baden Springs, IN 47432
Location: United States > Indiana > West Baden Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Baden Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Baden Springs Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your West Baden Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Baden Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing