We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again,couldn't be happier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Baden Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Baden Springs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Muncie,IN.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Once again,couldn't be happier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We decided, once again, to take the 3 hour drive and spend a long weekend at the West Baden Springs Hotel. This was our 4th time , and it amazes me every time we arrive at the great service, attention to detail, and the luxurious atmosphere. All facets of the Hotel are spot on. Staff,cleanliness,services - all provided with friendliness and competence.
Splurged on dinner one evening at 1875 @ the Frnech Lick Inn - pricey, but nice atmosphere, and we knew going in about the costs. Second night at Hagens - as usual, good food and nice surroundings. Very busy this particular night, but Tony,behind the bar, was up to the challenge.
King, balcony was as remembered - spacious and cozy. Love sitting on balcony and watching all the people in the atrium. We've reviewed the hotel before, and once again, I highly recommend making it a destination. Totally unique.

Room Tip: Atrium balcony room - costs a bit more, but worth it. Hagens and the Power Plant are good options f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muncie_IN_JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    201
    48
    23
    8
See reviews for
314
916
37
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The West Baden/French Lick resort is truly a extraordinary jewel. A trip will transport you back in time to an era of classic jazz and cocktails. The hotel is nothing short of an architectural and design masterpiece! The staff, service, food and ambiance are second to none. Men, pack your best suit and women your most special dress and treat yourselves to an exquisite dinner at Sinclairs or the 1875s Steakhouse..be prepared to become addicted! During the day Enjoy the first class spa, horseback riding, swimming, golf, casino as well as the tranquil beauty of the surroundings.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and special. My favorite: stay in an interior balcony room and enjoy gazing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Staying at the West Baden Springs hotel is like taking a trip back into time. This beautiful spa hotel, built at the turn of the century as the largest steel-domed structure in the world, has now been brought back to life in a sensitive and beautiful restoration. It is difficult to believe a place like this exists in a sleepy corner of Indiana farmlands. The rooms were beautiful, the service excellent, and the spa services very professional. A great place for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the domed atrium is stunning. We did not have a problem with noise as the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illflyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband, two kids (ages 7 and 11), and I just returned from an overnight stay at West Baden Springs hotel. First of all, the pros. This place is big and the staff is friendly. The hotel rooms are immaculate but tiny. The bathroom is large compared to the sleeping area.

The cons....THERE IS NOTHING TO DO HERE! The atmosphere reminds me a lot of a funeral home. Dead quiet with only a scattering of people sitting here and there doing absolutely nothing. The prices for the restaurants at both hotels are nothing short of outrageous! The bar charges $10 per mixed drink so bring your own alcohol if you want to have a cocktail...you'll need it as there is nothing else to do here. If you like fresh air, don't count on it here...the entire building, hotel room, shuttle, and elevators are so stuffy I felt like I couldn't breathe. You have to insert your room key in the elevator to use it but most of the time it didn't work so we found ourselves walking to the other side of the hotel just to find a working elevator. This place is NOT for families with children or for young couples. It is a wonderful place for an old retired couple looking for complete peace and quiet.

On a side note, the balcony railing surrounding the hotel porch has swastikas every other rail or two. I found a small brass plate explaining that the railing was put up before WWII but still, the swastika is such an offending symbol, this hotel needs to have it replaced.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overseeing the atrium might help lessen the claustrophobic effect and stuffiness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jjs250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary_Wagner, Guest Services Manager at West Baden Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please feel free to contact my office directly at (812) 936-5514 if you would like to discuss these issues further. I would be happy to explain the many amenities and activities that our resort offers, which you may not have been aware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent New Years at West Baden this year. We agreed it would be a once in a lifetime event. It was definitely that. The hotel is spectacular. My husband left a piece a luggage in the room and the hotel shipped it back to us.

Room Tip: Book an atrium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was the second consecutive year that my wife and I spent New Year's Eve at West Baden Springs. The hotel is stunningly beautiful and the rooms are luxurious. The staff at WBS are wonderfully helpful and pleasant. We will definitely return and are hoping to spend at least a weekend at WBS this summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Got a gift certificate from hubby for Christmas, so we staryed on Dec. 30, 2012. I booked the "On a Whim" package, and we had a wonderful evening. We don't live far from the hotel and had been there on afternoon excursions, but staying there was awesome. We were given a room with a balcony overlooking the atrium, which was so beautiful, because the Christmas tree was up. We also had a $30.00 credit for breakfast at the restaurant, Sinclair's. Our room was absolutely elegant, and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UNHAPPYsellersquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Baden Springs
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Lick
0.8 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
1.0 mi away
French Lick Springs Hotel
French Lick Springs Hotel
#2 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Legend of French Lick Resort
The Legend of French Lick Resort
#1 of 1 in West Baden Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Baden Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Baden Springs Hotel

Property: West Baden Springs Hotel
Address: c/o French Lick Resort, 8670 W. State Road 56, West Baden Springs, IN 47432
Location: United States > Indiana > West Baden Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Baden Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Baden Springs Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your West Baden Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Baden Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing