We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for possible charm and perfection”

French Lick Winery & Vintage Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place for possible charm and perfection”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The wine was wonderful with the choice of many free tastings, employees courteous and helpful, and the food very good. It's too bad that that the cafe is adjoined to the ugly winery building when it otherwise would have so much charm. Had it been on the grounds of the resorts or in another area on its own property, with cutsey building and landscaping with ambiance, the business would be perfect.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jewell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    75
    23
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The wine tasting was great, a large selection of them and reasonably priced, food was good service was terrible had to wait over a half hour for a salad

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLJ_905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
365 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Large variety of wine - very nice pasta lunch”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stop at the winery for a tasting - taste all you want - no charge except for three of the wines - the other 20+ are on the house. Did not realize they had a café - we decided to try it for lunch. We each had different pasta dishes. Both were very good - the vegetarian raviolis were top notch. The wife's baked ziti had to cool - was very hot. Some of the wines were of good quality - others probably would make a good starter for sangria or wine coolers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was not great”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I atmosphere of the winery is nice, with tourist doing wine tasting and a nice gift shop. Although the food was not that good. I had the vegetable ravioli and my husband had the lobster ravioli. They were both definitely frozen at one point and "heat and eat". A coupe near us had ordered a pizza which looked much better. If we go back I am trying the pizza instead.

Helpful?
1 Thank JennStro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our group of 4 had fun tasting the wine and chatting with the staff. Each of us brought home several bottles and look forward to sharing them with our friends and family! Delicious wines!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Lick Winery & Vintage Cafe also viewed

 

Been to French Lick Winery & Vintage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing