We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice job remodeling! Food even seems better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponderosa Steakhouse

Ponderosa Steakhouse
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Washington
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ponderosa is where today's families find a fun and casual family dining atmosphere, all-american favorite foods, and something-for-everyone variety. Ponderosa Steakhouses serve great steaks, seafood and sides along with an expansive buffet featuring a variety of dishes including beef, chicken, seafood, fresh vegetables and fruit, soups, salads, appetizers and desserts. When it comes to friendly atmosphere, our staff offers full-service at your table and a help-yourself buffet. Where people find a place to call home - for great food, great atmosphere and a great value!
Petersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice job remodeling! Food even seems better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great buffet. Steaks are pretty good. If you have a problem with your food they will fix it. Very friendly place. Good value for good food. The new decor and floor plan is much more inviting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Love this place altho they do need to make there meats not so dry. I love it tho every ones nice u can eat in peace without being asked every two secounds about stuff and the prices are fair for a stake house

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sisi47501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere usa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Low quality steaks help make this restaurant a big looser.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

$34.95 for two 10 oz ribeyes as tough and sinewy as a couple of pieces of old grizzly, two baked potatoes and buffet.

When we told our beverage filler about our chew steaks she told us that we should have ordered the sirlion.

Ponderosa was our only option in this small Indiana town. We should have ordered pizza.

Not, I repeat, NOT recommended.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Commercialtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fair to poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Food is mediocre at best, place is usually clean. Nothing spectacular about this one. You do get a lot of choices on their three buffet bars.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank letsgo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“biggest ponderosa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

this is suppose to be the biggest ponderosa in the united states. i have been there many times, food is usually good, but nothing exceptional. the waitstaff is almost always right there if you need anything.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbwlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing