We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”
Review of Charley Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charley Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wabash
Certificate of Excellence
Snohomish, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We travel back to Wabash quite often, and for about the last year have been staying at the Charley Creek Inn during our visits. The hotel is a great value and offers a great atmosphere for our extended visits. The service is great !! We had Charley Creek Inn cater our toddler birthday bash, make sure you check out their rooftop room..it is great for gatherings of 40 to 50!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    21
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
83
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muncie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here one night a few weeks ago and it was so nice! The beds are hands down the best we've ever slept in, and the decor is superb. I noticed a complaint on this site that the mattresses were too hard, but they are specially made beds that can be flipped to a softer side. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, both for dinner and for breakfast, though it was a tad overpriced and we did have to wait. I will say that the ONLY letdown is the lack of professional service. It was mostly just the front desk staff (one lady in particular) that was so dismissive, so rude, and not so helpful at all. I let that go, but what bothered me was the restaurant staff was forgetful and pretty unprofessional. All in all I would stay there again, if only for the awesome beds. I just believe that in a place that nice, $15 million dollars invested in it, the service should be top notch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Charley Creek Inn Easter weekend. The rooms were impeccable and were very reasonably priced. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. The staff at the desk was helpful and polite. If you're in the area, I'd definitely recommend Charley Creek Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiebug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

When we got to the hotel we were impressed with the restoration and the beautiful decor. Our suite was lovely and the beds were the most comfortable hotel beds ever. Our first night was nice. We did some wine tasting at the wine bar and got some nice wines with the help of the staff. However our stat went down hill from there. We went down to the twenty for breakfast and waited for an hour for eggs, bacon, and toast. It was bad enough that our wait was so long and we got to watch everyone around us, including a couple that got there a half hour after us, receive and eat their food, but then the manager came over and made it worse. At first when she came over we thought that she was the hostess. She asked how our food was, we mentioned the wait she just made excuses. She next came over she ungraciously comped our food, making it seem like we were being unreasonable for complaining about the poor service.

So we now have spent 2 hours of our morning waiting on breakfast, where our room has been vacant. We took a nice walk along the river walk and stopped in a few shops, getting back to our room at around 1:45 pm. A maid was outside of our room and mentioned the she was preparing to clean it. We needed to change and freshen up, so we asked here to give us 15 minutes and we would be out. She said okay, then returned with reinforcements to tell us that they were leaving for the day. Since we were still changing, we accepted some towels and were left with and unserviced room, dirty dishes, and no coffee for the morning. Very uni pressed with the service and the staff at this hotel. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a great hotel, like a perfect B&B with all the services of a hotel. Rooms are comfy, large and well appointed. A very short walk to whatever you want, Honeywell center, river walk and lots of history. This is great stay-cation or escape. Service is great, candy shop and wine and cheese shop are both gems.

Give this one a try.

Room Tip: Plan on leaving windows closed unless you like trains. Mid-week prices are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jem1rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our fourth and perhaps final visit to this boutique hotel. The rooms are nice and even those in the lowest price range have some nice amenities. However, the complimentary breakfast is gone and the restaurant Twenty has lowered its standards. The front desk personnel were indifferent.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Market Street side. There is a lot of noisy traffic on it---especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My family lives in Florida and like many of you we like to travel. Since we have family in Wabash it's necessary to rent a hotel room at least a few nights a year. Our family size often requires a larger room and the Holiday Inn express north of downtown on hwy24 has often been the bain of my exsistance. It was a necessary evil and over the years it has slowly transformed itself into a money stealing ashtray, but at the time it was the lesser of two evils.

BEHOLD! Like manna from heaven the clouds parted and reveled a shiny new beacon of hope. The Charley Creek Inn (strangely not situated on charley creek) opened to much fanfare with the locals and myself. I immediately booked a room for my next trip into town and I wasn't dissapointed. The restoration of this building (especially if you remember the former red apple inn) is nothing short of astonishing. It really is very similar to a boutique hotel in a larger local. Short of the more upscale hotels in downtown Indianapolis there is no equal in this area of the country, especially for the price. Of course, I'm happy to see this happen in my former hometown after years chain stores causing downtown shops to close, but I'm even happier I don't have to stay at the holiday inn express stinkbomb north of town.

If you're staying here you're probably either already familar with Wabash or enjoying a show at the nearby Honeywell Center. (another astonishing building for a city this size) If you're looking for things to do and places to eat be sure to the following: Directly across the street is the recently refurbished Eagles theater that is even more stunning that this hotel. If you're hungry for pizza my all time favorite pizza place Pizza King is only a block away. The YMCA is within walking distance as well and although I haven't been I hear it's nice. The Market Street Grill is also a nice local place to eat and of course there is also the hotel resturant.

Though if you're really just wanting a place to crash stop by the wal-mart and buy a large can of febreeze and book a room at the competing hotels. You'll get a nice view of the highway if you're lucky.

Note: The hotel doesn' t have a pool. However the YMCA does and as a hotel guest I believe they give you a voucher.

Room Tip: Wink and be good looking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Powertourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabash
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntington
Comfort Inn Huntington
#1 of 4 in Huntington
59 reviews
16.5 mi away
Best Western Circus City Inn
17.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Marion
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 4 in Huntington
57 reviews
16.6 mi away
Knights Inn Peru
Knights Inn Peru
#2 of 3 in Peru
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charley Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charley Creek Inn

Property: Charley Creek Inn
Address: 111 W Market St, Wabash, IN 46992-3053
Location: United States > Indiana > Wabash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wabash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charley Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charley Creek Inn has 30 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The Inn offers Small Town Luxury at its Best with 20th century decor and 21st century amenities including FREE high speed internet, wine tastings (M-Sat), full-service on-site restaurant (Twenty), Wine & Cheese Shoppe, Ice Cream & Candy Shoppe, award winning Banquet, Wedding & Event space and planning services. Charley Creek Inn is located in downtown Wabash near distinctive shopping, world-class museums, the Visitors Center and art galleries. The Honeywell Center is only 1/2 block from Charley Creek Inn and overnight guests can use the 75,000 square foot YMCA for free during their stay (1.5 Blocks away) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Charley Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charley Creek Hotel Wabash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing