We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, with some caveats”
Review of Ogle Haus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogle Haus Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vevay
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Ogle Haus Inn on a "free night" reward basis. We weren't there for long, but there are a few things you should know if you stay there.

First, the hotel is older but nice. It is in a quiet neighborhood and set back from the road a little. The Switzerland County HS, middle school, and elementary school are across the street, so I suppose it would be noisier had we been there on a school day.

The back of the hotel overlooks the Ohio River. Fantastic view! Make sure you ask for a second floor room with a river view (unfortunately, we didn't know about it and so we got a first floor parking lot view!)

In fact, our room was probably the worst location of the entire hotel. I guess you get what you pay for, but even so...the lobby door, a hallway intersection, the vending/ice machines and a maintenance closet were all right outside our doorway. Soundproofing is NOT at all this hotel's strong suit!

The free wi-fi was a major draw for us, but it was terribly weak--a real disappointment. My husband got it to work for a fair amount of time, but I couldn't get on at all. I suppose more than one connection would have overwhelmed it anyway.

Not that I blame management, but we were also there during a weekend when the hotel was rented out for someone's wedding.The rehearsal dinner was held there during our stay, and a lot of excited children and adults were apparently congregating at the aforementioned vending machines until well after 11 pm. I'm not sure I'd have booked the room knowing that we were going to be so close to the festivities. In hindsight, I should have at least changed rooms--my fault for not speaking up, I guess.

Didn't use the pool or weight room, but they looked nice. There is also a deck off of the dining area (continental breakfast was fairly good) and the river view is once again gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Ogle Haus Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

Following other ratings, we drove about 21 miles from Carollton to Ogle Haus BW. The decor is delightfully Bavarian. Our riverfront view was beautfiful. The staff pleasant. Having stayed in 5* hotels on business, we were extremely pleased. Maybe no 5* ascetics, but 5* comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hqipcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The hotel is spotless, the staff gracious, and the view oh the view. Last week even with severe storm reports we were on the balcony watching barges, and over the hills and far away lightening. It is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeshala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband and I had seen this motel the only other time we were in Vevay, IN. It sits back from the road and has lots of landscaping and parking areas in front so we almost missed it. We decided to come up a day early for our event and spend the night - we are glad we did. Very nice motel w/ big lobby area. We had a 2-queen bed room and it was large enough for us. The room had a fridge & microwave. The beds were very comfortable. Front desk staff (and everyone we saw) were very friendly. The included continental breakfast was just fine. We lucked out w/ no big family gatherings and/or groups so it was nice and quiet and relaxing. Would definitely repeat our stay.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Great experience and excellent value. We were upgraded to a suite just to be nice. Clean and well-kept facility with a very nice Lobby. Good breakfast and lounge in the evening. The staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. Vevay is a special and charming Village, with beautiful architeture and quaint restaurants -- very relaxing. Casinos are a short drive from here, as is Madison, jewel on the Ohio River. We're going back in a couple weeks to relax some more.

Jim from Indianapolis

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The Ogle Haus Best Western has the Friendliest, most Guest-Service oriented Staff that we've ever experienced at a hotel. Michael & Damon, the Ogle Haus Management, have done a fantastic job providing the best Guest experience possible and are always available to talk while focusing on providing total Guest satisfaction during any stay. Crystal at the Front Desk was professional, courteous and friendly and made our Check-in/Check-out a fast and pleasant experience. The Housekeeping was top-notch and the accommodations were comfortable and far exceeded our expectations. The complimentary Continental Breakfast offers a wide variety of breakfast food and you can even sit on the spacious outdoor deck to enjoy the view of the Ohio River during the warm weather months. The location overlooking the Ohio River provides an excellent view especially while relaxing on the river view room patio. The Ogle Haus Best Western hotel, one of the best kept secrets in Southeastern Indiana, is an excellent lodging alternative to the upscale Belterra Casino Hotel Resort only nine miles away in Florence, IN.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel is a good value. Everything works as advertised: wireless internet, nice large tv's, hot tub with plenty of hot water! I love that this was a non-smoking hotel. You could tell people smoked outside though, as large numbers of butts were on the grass. Despite not being that close to all 3 riverboat casinos, this place was a true oasis from the maddening crowd. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevay
9.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
238 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
173 reviews
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
112 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogle Haus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogle Haus Inn

Address: 1013 W Main St, Vevay, IN 47043-9459
Location: United States > Indiana > Vevay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vevay
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss/Bavarian - Ohio River overlooking the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ogle Haus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogle Haus Hotel Vevay
Best Western Vevay
Vevay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing