We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
15
41
38
14
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
41
38
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard by marriott an older property bob evans right next door hot breakfast room was large couch
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 128 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2015

When we travel, we'd rather have a good bargain than a perfect hotel. This one fit the bill. While there were a few details that were slightly off, it was clean; quiet; less expensive than any of the other places we looked; and very close to the event we were attending. Breakfast is included, which makes it an even better deal. Wi-fi was good in the room. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side. My daughter said there was a little noise in the front.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abelard1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Our room was cozy and clean, and the customer service here is top-notch. We were having trouble figuring out our thermostat. I got cold in the middle of the night, but they had no problem sending a friendly employee to help me adjust it immediately even though it was 2 AM.

The morning continental breakfast that was included with our room was out of sight- not only pastries and coffee, but also hot eggs, sausages, ham, French toast, waffles, biscuits and gravy, etc. We stayed two nights and the hot selections varied from day-to-day, which would make longer stays less monotonous.

The entry is beautiful with a wooden staircase to the second floor. They have an indoor-outdoor pool (the outdoor portion is open during the summer swimming season, but the indoor pool is open year round). There is also a spacious hot tub and a workout room.

The hotel is conveniently located next to both 30 and 49 as well as within walking distance to several restaurants and a shopping area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a nicer view
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

Our room was well equipped with frig & microwave, nice bedding and ample towels, and good cable and wifi service. The bath was very clean and had extra towels & supplies; the water might be filtered due to local hardness so watch shampoos. Pool is indoor-outdoor; I stayed there a few years ago in summer and water was cold, so we did not go in. It's an older hotel but has been nicely redone. Breakfast area is huge and has a typical array of food choices, though coffee could have been warmer. Staff is helpful & pleasant; free papers are available. It was VERY quiet and convenient with ample parking and good landscaping.

Room Tip: Back side is away from parking lot. Hall are fairly long so ask if you need near elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xhoosierjs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2015

We booked this hotel for a low rate through Hot Wire, and I had low expectations. And while this is not the newest property in Valpo, I was pleasantly surprised. Everything was clean, and the room was relatively large. It appeared to have new, white linens on the bed. A nice refrigerator and microwave were included. The bathroom had a new, granite counter. If traveling in the winter, the pool would be VERY small, but we were there in July, and the outside portion of the pool and nice courtyard were open. My kids liked that you could swim from inside to outside. Towels at the pool were plentiful. Breakfast in the morning included waffles (make-your-own), scrambled eggs and sausage, fruit, cereals and yogurts. Wifi was slow. The staff was friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank M_Therese15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

For a 30-year-old Quality Inn, the property is quite well maintained. (One ice machine was out of order, however.) That is probably because it was recently converted from a Marriott Courtyard. (Before that, it was a Carlson Lodge.) Our room was very clean.

This is a two-story hotel with no elevator, so if that will be an issue for you and your luggage, you will probably want a first-floor room. We heard no noise from the road, from trains (as is an issue north in Chesterton), or from other guests. There was, however, during the entire duration of our stay, a problem with noise (apparently due to water flowing in a pipe) in one wall of our room. (Behind a screwed-on panel in our closet, one could see a rectangular cut-out in the drywall where someone had earlier performed an inspection or attempted to make a repair.) This noise was essentially continuous, and was not "water hammer." I initially suspected that it might keep my wife (a very light sleeper) awake, but in the end, it did not. After we checked out, we asked a knowledgeable front-desk attendant (believed to be the owner's son) about this, and he said that it was due to a problem with the boiler (below our room), and affected only a few rooms. If that is indeed the case, and if this noise is likely to cause a problem for you, you will probably want to avoid rooms 203, 205, 207, and possibly the corresponding rooms on the first floor.

The Wi-Fi worked well. (You will need to get a password from the front desk, which we failed to do at check-in.)

Breakfast was fine. If you come down at the wrong time, there can be a significant waiting line for access to the hot food or the waffle maker, and there can be waits for replenishment of hot food or waffle batter. (Sunday at about 8:50 am was as busy as I have ever seen a "free" hotel breakfast.) The milk and juice were kept very well refrigerated (in an easily accessible, clear-doored refrigerator, and in excellent compliance with the FDA Food Code), as was the butter. (The temperature setting is such that you might want to let the butter soften a bit before attempting to spread it.)

There is a very nice, well-maintained, fenced "backyard" with grass (and a barbeque) in the back, which is quite unusual for a chain hotel. There is a single (quite small) "indoor-outdoor swimming pool" (as described on the hotel's web site), part of which is outdoors, and part of which is indoors. In the summer, one can go (while in the water) under a partition from one part to the other. In the winter, only the indoor half is available. The pool is for getting wet, relaxing, and having a good time, not for swimming. There is also an adjacent whirlpool/hot tub.

Room Tip: Probably want to avoid rooms 203, 205, and 207, and possibly corrsponding rooms on first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sokolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews