We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,668 reviews
304 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,815 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed there twice - once at the start of our trip in September and then 3 1/2 weeks later at the end of our trip. The location is very good if you want to go to Valparaiso University - many years ago my uncle had helped to put in the stained glass windows at the chapel there and I found this location to be perfect to drive over for morning services with the students there as well as see the stained glass windows and the history museum in the basement of the chapel.

The rooms were comfortable and it was nice to have both a Bob Evans andr fast food like Wendy's nearby. The first time I got in at 11:00 p.m so I went to Wendys. and the 2nd got in about 4:00 p.m. Both times check-in and check-out service was excellent and friendly. I was soon in my room. The 2nd time there were great fresh cookies to enjoy (yummy).

The rooms layout were a tad different in both but both good for a great one night stay. Beds were comfortable as well as the pillows. Sitting couch in my 2nd room was good and there was good lighting throughout the room. Housekeeping services is good.....

I ate breakfast there one morning - the price was more reasonable than Bob Evans since it includes juice, coffee, and many good breakfast items. For quality, Bob Evans next door was better. Either however would work well.

I did not use the swimming pool but it looked enjoyable (just doing too much sight seeing to swim.).

The free parking by your rooms was good. Both times I had a first floor room which worked out great......

Yeah - the hotel might have been there for a few years but overall its a good place to stay close by the major highways to get you to other places in Indiana.

On my 2nd time there it felt like I was coming home (meaning I was happy to see the place). If I am in the Valparaiso area again, I would not hesitate to book a room at this friendly happy hotel.

The brochures on the Indiana Sand Dunes area were helpful in getting me there quickly....and the information on local attractions was ok.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if possible. Smile - you'll find this place to have a good staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotel felt like home when you came back the second time-this means a lot to us. We really appreciate your business and loyalty to us and I hope next time you are in town you take some time and enjoy the pool as well. Take care and hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Stan Iliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
49
18
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This property could use a refresh, but it's in pretty good shape. Pool is a little small but fine. Room was big and in good shape. Loved the whirlpool in the room! Only courtyard I've been to with a buffet (for a small fee) instead of the Bistro. Overall a decent property!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time and providing us with your feedback-this is how we learn and get better! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. We know that you have many options so we feel privileged that you decided to stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in town and greet you with a warm cookie and hot apple cider at the front desk.

Warm regards,

Stan Iliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

this was a wonderful hotel, with a great staff. what's nice is that you always know what to expect, and it's never a let down.
everything was clean, quite and comfortable.
room was large and bright, bed was exceptional (as always), and bathroom was spacious with nice towels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for the kind words, I'll make sure and pass on your compliments to the staff as I know they'll appreciate it. I'm really glad we continue to serve you well and thank you for your loyalty. Hope to see you back soon!
Warm Regards,
Stan Iliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My team stayed here almost weekly from May through August. Do not expect much and you won't be disappointed. This Courtyard needs updating. There is no Bistro, so no espresso in the morning or drinks in the evening. There is a breakfast buffet that is extra unless you work it into your room rate as we did. Also no dinner service at all. The rooms are old and sometimes smelled musty. The windows opened, but there were no screens so you couldn't get any fresh air. Not all the rooms had thermostats, some still had the old under-the-window units. It's 2 stories and there isn't an elevator. The workout room is upstairs so there wasn't anyway to avoid them. I won't miss them, that's for sure. However, housekeeping did a good jobs cleaning up the rooms, making sure you had enough towels and generally tidying up after you. The desk staff was always very nice and greeted us warmly every time we checked in.

Room Tip: Get a room opposite the street. They are very quiet. Do not let them give you an adjoining room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareGoWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Clare,

Thank you very much for taking the time and providing us with your feedback, I'm glad our housekeepers provided you with service to your likings and I'll work deligently on making some changes and improving the property. I agree with you that we are an older property and the lack of elevator is definetly not ideal but we have someone at the desk 24/7 to assist and carry our guests' bags upstairs in case first floor rooms are not available. We are already working on few projects and will have a lots of changes in the upcoming months. Thak you again for staying with us and for your business!
Best regards,

Stan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our room with king bed was larger than expected and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely bedding and five pillows. Senior couple stayed two nights as we're in area for a wedding. The lobby is beautiful. The only downside is that there are two floors but no elevator. However three staff members insisted on taking our luggage to the second floor to our room. We did not have time to use the pools but they looked very nice and are right by the lobby. We did not eat there so cannot review the food quality. The staff was very polite and helpful with directions to places and immediately brought more coffee to our room for their coffee pot. There was also a small fridge in our room at no extra charge. We would definitely recommend this Courtyard by Marriott to anyone traveling in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if using stairs is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm happy to know you'll consider us for your lodging needs next time you are in town. If you have more time next visit you should really try our indoor/outdoor pool, it is heated, the water is amazing, and I guarantee you it will be an enjoyable experience. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Stan Iliev General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to stay and travel to Chicago for the sightseeing! We stayed in this hotel because we couldn't find any vacancies in Marriott hotels near Chicago during our visit. It was also on the way to our other location Columbus, OH.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subodh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. I'm certainly glad our location was convenient for you and you had a great stay. Next time you are in town or just passing through please stop by and see us again, we would be happy to accomodate you again. Thank you again for your business and loyalty.

Take Care,

Stan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Courtyard used to be a premium brand. This hotel is showing its age. The lobby was updated but the rooms halls are dated and the mattresses are saggy and worn out.

The pool is dirty (hairballs and slimy) with a water leak dripping from plumbing above. Gross.

We'll be staying somewhere newer our next time through Valpo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwgfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan I, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The hotel is currently going through stages of renovation-the lobby is finished and soon the carpet in the hallways will be replaced. Our main entrance door is soon to be replaced with sliding doors and the Café area is being updated. I do apologize for the pool not being operational at the time of your stay, we had to close it due to unexpected mechanical issue for couple of days. All repairs have been made and the facility was open again on Monday and we again have a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool. Please visit us again soon and enjoy all the changes we are making to ensure every guest has a perfect stay.
Warm Regards,
Stan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Address: 2301 East Morthland Drive US 30 E, Valparaiso, IN 46383 (Formerly Courtyard Valparaiso)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso is one of Northwest Indiana's Valparaiso hotels that puts you right where you want to be. Adjacent to Valparaiso University, the Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso is perfect for parents or other University guests and visitors. This is also one of the most convenient of the Valparaiso hotels for those doing business with Pratt Industries, Emerson, Task Force Tips or Urschel Labs. Just minutes from Valparaiso's award-winning downtown dining district and the famed Strongbow Turkey Inn, the Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso offers well-appointed guest rooms with free high-speed Internet. Just off Rt. 49 and US 30, it is ideal for enjoying an event at the Porter County Expo Center, a day at the Indiana Dunes, shopping at Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets, splashing at Deep River Waterpark or visiting any of the nearby casino boats. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Valparaiso Courtyard
Valparaiso Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing