We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Courtyard”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were here literally for one night for a function at a friend's house and we didn't want to have to drive back to the city afterwards. Very clean rooms and very friendly staff. The pool looked very nice although we didn't use it. We could hear our neighbors but that seems to my usual experience at most hotels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
47
18
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

There was no one at the desk when we arrived, so we waited. The lobby is outdated, but not dirty. It was loud (not the hotel's fault, just packed full of guests running around). People were waiting at the desk for pool towels, of which they had none to hand out. We got our room and checked in after about 10 minutes at the desk. The room was outdated and very small. I am guessing they are remodeling and we got an old room?? We had to move the bedside table to be able to open the pull-out couch. There was no free floor space in the room for suitcases. There were bugs (which don't bother me, so it didn't make us want to move). I killed the bugs, squooshed everyone in and we slept fine. Just very outdated and very small. Not our typical Courtyard experience. Free parking, plenty of it. Further off the interstate than I would have liked, but that was our error in booking. Breakfast was excellent, but not free. That caught me off guard, as we were expecting breakfast to be included, but we ate anyway after a debate... It was your typical hot-cold continental breakfast served at most hotels - waffles you make yourself, fruit, yogurt, bread choices, etc. It was a good breakfast, but not worth the cost. The restaurant staff was WONDERFUL. Very nice and kept the place spotless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omahajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay. I apologize for the issues you had experienced during your stay. I have taken these issues to my associates to use for training to prevent these issues from taking place in the future. I am also happy to hear that you were treated well during your stay and were able to enjoy our breakfast. I am also happy to hear that you felt our establishment is very clean. Thank you again for your feedback as it is very valuable to us to continuously improve our hotel. Take care.

Sincerely,
Ruth Hoover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valparaiso hotels

Indianapolis, IN
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had business in Michigan City and had to stay the week. Finding few hotels in Michigan City I opted to stay in Valparaiso and commute. The Courtyard is easy access to major highways making the commute easy. The hotel is clean, friendly and well-maintained. The rooms were sufficiently large and quiet. My only complaints were a too loud refridgerator and a door lock that kept wanting to remain open--problems that were met with courtesy and quickly resolved. The pool is a bit small and I was surprised to find the breakfast buffet was not complimentary, which was common for most Courtyards. However, the cost was well worth the variety and quality of the food. I will be returning again in a few months and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is basicially a series of halls moving away from a central core of the pool, front desk, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was simply the best place I found with value for several nights stay. If your AAA member then look no further. Stay here and enjoy the wonderful real breakfast. Great hotel and had better nights stay here then in Chicago at a 4star on Magnificient Mile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Your typical Courtyard Marriott but with a great staff. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were average but clean. The hotel was quiet, (get a room on the backside facing the woods). The only drawback there was no free breakfast. There was a restaurant for breakfast but it was $6.95/person and did not look that appetizing. There are restaurants nearby, walking distance for other food. The Hotel is very convenient to the university.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside of the hotel facing the woods, it will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The staff at the Courtyard Valparaiso was by far the friendliest that I have come across in quite some time. From check-in to check-out and in between. Two different housekeepers warmly greeted me in the morning as I passed by in the hallway on my way out. I would especially like to recognize Betty who was working the front desk in the morning as I could tell that she genuinely cared how my stay was. What a rockstar employee you have! Also, the room was very clean and the air conditioning was very effective and quiet. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Cons: Only Pet Friendly hotel in Valpo, they take advantage of this by charging a $75 Non-refundable pet fee. Facility is dated, rooms are motel 6 quality, which is fitting because its right accross the street from Walmart. Walls are paper thin, expect to be disturbed by this. Not your typical Marriott Courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robtguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth H, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
We are very excited to be getting a renovation that should be completed by mid-summer. We also pride ourselves on exceeding our guests' expectations by providing excellent service. Thank you very much for your feedback. We always strive to exceed expectations. I apologize that we were not able to do that for your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss any other concerns you may have. Thank you and have a great day.

Ruth Hoover
General Manager
Courtyard Valparaiso
219-465-1700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Address: 2301 East Morthland Drive US 30 E, Valparaiso, IN 46383 (Formerly Courtyard Valparaiso)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso is one of Northwest Indiana's Valparaiso hotels that puts you right where you want to be. Adjacent to Valparaiso University, the Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso is perfect for parents or other University guests and visitors. This is also one of the most convenient of the Valparaiso hotels for those doing business with Pratt Industries, Emerson, Task Force Tips or Urschel Labs. Just minutes from Valparaiso's award-winning downtown dining district and the famed Strongbow Turkey Inn, the Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso offers well-appointed guest rooms with free high-speed Internet. Just off Rt. 49 and US 30, it is ideal for enjoying an event at the Porter County Expo Center, a day at the Indiana Dunes, shopping at Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets, splashing at Deep River Waterpark or visiting any of the nearby casino boats. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Valparaiso Courtyard
Valparaiso Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing