We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Courtyard Valpo met all our expectations. Service at the front desk was very friendly/helpful. Our double room on the first floor was clean, quiet and comfortable, although it could use updating.

There's good coffee in the lobby all day, although twice we found it had run out in the morning. We did not have the breakfast, because as other reviewers have noted, it's a bit steep to charge for what many comparable hotels offer complimentary.

The pool/hot tub are small and loud, but the pool (indoors) connects to the outdoor pool through a little passageway, which is kind of neat. I liked swimming under the stars.

Location is good for Valparaiso University, and it's a short (30 min) drive to Indiana Dunes, which is awesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
47
18
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I waited almost a month to write this review to be sure my impressions weren't being jaded by the deluxe hotel we had just come from the previous nights. Unfortunately, my and my family's feelings are still the same. The hotel resembles an old Days Inn or Howard Johnson's on the exterior. There was a crew there that appeared to be painting the outside, but it still doesn't change the overall feel and look of the building which is old. Our room was clean and comfortable for our short stay, but nothing spectacular. Our bathroom had loose tiles on the wall and hot water was limited. We had a room that could have connected to another and the doorknob and lock on it looked like it was from the 50's! The highlight of this stay is the wonderful young woman who checked us in. However, the woman on duty in the morning was nice but was more interested in conversing with the maintenance man. It was fine for one night, but I'm not so sure we'll stay here again. We'll probably look for something similar with breakfast included. Sorry...I just don't think this is up to Courtyard standards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed at the Courtyard Valpo for a family reunion and while it's an older property, the staff was very helpful and bent over backwards to accomodate us. They let us hang out in their breakfast area in the evenings to play cards & visit - very relaxed. Rooms weren't incredible but they were very clean, comfortable and roomy.Beds were a pleasant surprise too. Plus, we had a change in plans and needed to cancel for our last night at about 3:00pm & they let us do it, no questions asked. We didn't swim in the pool, but it looked nice. You can't go wrong staying there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seedegraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Valpo is a smaller city so there are not many options for staying. With that being said, the Courtyard is nice and clean. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean. I did not like having to pay $8 per person for breakfast, especially with a Bob Evans right next door. It is too much money for what you get. The lobby area is nice-gives you a comfy "lodge" feel. Seems like it used to be a Cartton Lodge (?) maybe before because it doesn't appear to be a traditional Courtyard.

No elevator but it is only 2 floors. Ask ahead of time if you need the first floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth070303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy city
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed here with my sister in May 2011,I;m from Illinois and she is from another part of Indiana.The front desk was great and we were happy with the room overall the stay was nice.they were couteous place was clean and the breakfast had everything absolutely no complaints,would stay here again.


Maggart&Stewart

Room Tip: room and hallway quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWindycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed at this hotel July 31 through August 2, 2010. I checked in at 12 noon and checked out late at 2:30. I requested a fridge in the room and there was a fridge and a microwave, Check-in was effortless, check out was effortless. The staff was helpful, friendly, and went the extra mile. It was my birthday and I we visited the cafe'. We were given complimentary breakfast buffet for myself and spouse. We ordered take out from Petro's a local Gyro restaurant and received hot and delicious in 15 minutes. The staff asked we wanted to use the empty cafe to dine. We were brought dishes and silverware. The large screen TV was turned on for us. The hotel was completely booked so they definitely deserve a Five Star. The hotel itself is an older hotel and could use some updates but there is a homy feel (welcoming staff) and it more than makes up for any cosmetic touches that are needed. It was very clean and the staff were on top of everything you needed; even the housekeeping staff...the room was exceptionally clean and I look for everything. I was ill and the staff didn't know that but I left feeling so much better and definitely their service was uplifting and I was rejuvenated and rested!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threatsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel has an attitude about Priceline customers. We arrived at 2:00 pm and were told that "our" room would not be ready until 3:00 p.m. which was checkin time. When the shift changed, the second clerk informed us at 3:10 we would be "told when our room was ready." I explained that we had traveled two days for an open house from 2-5 and we were already missing it. One of the hotel personnel happened to overhear and said "the room is ready." The clerk pointed out something on the card to him (our perception was that we were Priceline). She still did not wani to release the room to us. There was an "attitude" going on with some of the staff. There were no elevators, the halls were not airconditioned. The safety doors were propped open with rocks and there was trash piled all around the trash cans outside. No free breakfas. Rooms were comfortable and well cooled, the indoor/outdoor pool seemed well used, grounds are nice, location is convenient , But the bottom line is we checked out a day early even with a no refund policy from Priceline.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valparaiso hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
10.9 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Address: 2301 East Morthland Drive US 30 E, Valparaiso, IN 46383 (Formerly Courtyard Valparaiso)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso is one of Northwest Indiana's Valparaiso hotels that puts you right where you want to be. Adjacent to Valparaiso University, the Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso is perfect for parents or other University guests and visitors. This is also one of the most convenient of the Valparaiso hotels for those doing business with Pratt Industries, Emerson, Task Force Tips or Urschel Labs. Just minutes from Valparaiso's award-winning downtown dining district and the famed Strongbow Turkey Inn, the Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso offers well-appointed guest rooms with free high-speed Internet. Just off Rt. 49 and US 30, it is ideal for enjoying an event at the Porter County Expo Center, a day at the Indiana Dunes, shopping at Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets, splashing at Deep River Waterpark or visiting any of the nearby casino boats. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Valparaiso Courtyard
Valparaiso Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing